Government and Not-For-Profit Accounting by
Unlike other government and not-for-profit (NFP) books, this one is directed at potential users rather than preparers of financial reports. It demonstrates the significance of reported information and shows users (managers, investors, taxpayers, legislators, trustees) how to interpret and analyze accounting information.
Handbook of Accounting and Sustainability by
This Handbook provides a comprehensive study of research, practice and policy at the nexus of accounting and sustainability, or sustainable development. Internationally renowned accounting academics in the field offer critical discussions of the topic to stimulate debate as the future policy infrastructure is formed. Chapters explain key drivers of developments at the nexus, critique those developments, summarise the findings of research on key themes in the field, and suggest areas for further research, offering evidence-based practice and policy solutions. The Handbook sets the scene by exploring accounting, power, social justice and unsustainability, before moving on to appraise the role of enterprise value-based integrated reporting in (un)sustainable development. It further analyses contemporary issues in the field, including climate change-related disclosures, accounting for greenhouse gases and emissions trading schemes. The thorough coverage of key issues in accounting and sustainability, and the analysis of research literature in the Handbook will make this a critical read for accounting and business researchers and students. It is an invigorating guide for policymakers and policy influencers, accounting professionals and business leaders looking to move forward in a more sustainable way.
Entrepreneurial Personality and Small Business Management by
Entrepreneurial Personality and Small Business Managementoffers a comprehensive analysis with theoretical and empirical grounding for understanding how entrepreneurial personality shapes small business outcomes. It explores why entrepreneurs act differently when facing similar situations and why some are more successful than others. Simona Leonelli and Francesca Masciarelli provide detailed quantitative and qualitative analyses based on original datasets, identifying the main personality traits of an entrepreneur. They particularly focus on how entrepreneurial narcissism affects small businesses and influences habitual entrepreneurship. Chapters draw on research techniques from a wide variety of disciplines including strategic management, entrepreneurial finance and innovation studies to reveal the importance and role of personality traits in shaping firm outcomes. This book represents an important step towards the development of a more complete understanding of the entrepreneur's role in a small firm. It will be a valuable resource for scholars and researchers interested in entrepreneurial behavior and SMEs, in particular how personality affects business outcomes. The focus on how personal characteristics, traits and qualities can lead to success will also be of interest to entrepreneurs and business advisors.
Handbook of Entrepreneurship and Marketing by
This timely and incisive Handbook provides critical contemporary insights into the theory and practice of entrepreneurship and marketing in the twenty-first century. Bringing together rich and varied contributions from prominent international researchers, it offers a reflective synthesis of scholarship at the interface between marketing and entrepreneurship. Emphasising the need for contextual analysis of marketing and entrepreneurial practices, this Handbook explores the effectiveness of a variety of behaviours, supporting its insights with relevant theory. Chapters cover areas such as innovation, strategy and networking for SMEs, social media and crowdfunding, and entrepreneurial marketing in the arts, including a focus on the growing phenomenon of cultural entrepreneurship. Scholars and postgraduate students in entrepreneurship and marketing, and particularly those working on the intersections between them, will find this Handbook an invaluable read. Its examination of the efficacy of various practices will also be of great interest to marketing professionals and entrepreneurs themselves. Contributors include:C. Ball, A. Bayraktar, S. Brown, D. Cummins, J.H. Deacon, N. Dennis, E. Erdogan, I. Fillis, J.B. Ford, I.S. Fraser, P.J. Fraser, L. Frondigoun, E. Gallagher, A. Gilmore, V. Gustafsson, B. Hynes, B. Jones, R. Jones, M. Kelly, F. Kerrigan, A. Kincaid, T.A. Kirchner, O.F. Lee, K. Lehman, E. Lloyd-Parkes, S. Loane, M. Macaulay, S. Mawson, M.P. Miles, S. Mirvahedi, S.C. Morrish, T. Morrow, S. Mottner, E.L. Ngan, K. Nightingale, R. Noorda, A. Patterson, C. Preece, E. Ramsey, R. Rentschler, E. Ritch, V.L. Rodner, J.E. Schroeder, Z. Sethna, R. Shannon, A.M.J. Smith, R. Smith, M. Suoranta, N. Telford, P. Tjabbes, C. Uslay
Handbook of Macroeconomics by
Handbook of Macroeconomics Volumes 2A and 2B surveys major advances in macroeconomic scholarship since the publication of Volume 1 (1999), carefully distinguishing between empirical, theoretical, methodological, and policy issues, including fiscal, monetary, and regulatory policies to deal with crises, unemployment, and economic growth. As this volume shows, macroeconomics has undergone a profound change since the publication of the last volume, due in no small part to the questions thrust into the spotlight by the worldwide financial crisis of 2008. With contributions from the world's leading macroeconomists, its reevaluation of macroeconomic scholarship and assessment of its future constitute an investment worth making.
Handbook of Research on Institutional, Economic, and Social Impacts of Globalization and Liberalization by
Globalization is a multi-dimensional concept reflecting the increased economic, social, cultural, and political integration of countries. There has been no pinpointed consensus on the history of globalization; however, the globalization process has gained significant speed as of the 1980s in combination with liberalization. Many countries have removed or loosened barriers over the international flows of goods, services, and production factors. In this context, both liberalization and globalization have led to considerable institutional, economic, social, cultural, and political changes in the world. The liberalization and globalization processes have affected economic units, institutions, cultures, social lives, and national and international politics. The Handbook of Research on Institutional, Economic, and Social Impacts of Globalization and Liberalization provides a comprehensive evaluation of the institutional, economic, and social impacts of globalization and liberalization processes across the world. While highlighting topics like economics, finance, business, and public administration, this book is ideally intended for government officials, policymakers, practitioners, stakeholders, researchers, and academicians interested in the international impacts of globalization and liberalization across a variety of different domains.
Machine Learning for Financial Risk Management with Python by
Financial risk management is quickly evolving with the help of artificial intelligence. With this practical book, developers, programmers, engineers, financial analysts, risk analysts, and quantitative and algorithmic analysts will examine Python-based machine learning and deep learning models for assessing financial risk. Building hands-on AI-based financial modeling skills, you'll learn how to replace traditional financial risk models with ML models. Author Abdullah Karasan helps you explore the theory behind financial risk modeling before diving into practical ways of employing ML models in modeling financial risk using Python. With this book, you will: Review classical time series applications and compare them with deep learning models Explore volatility modeling to measure degrees of risk, using support vector regression, neural networks, and deep learning Improve market risk models (VaR and ES) using ML techniques and including liquidity dimension Develop a credit risk analysis using clustering and Bayesian approaches Capture different aspects of liquidity risk with a Gaussian mixture model and Copula model Use machine learning models for fraud detection Predict stock price crash and identify its determinants using machine learning models
Marketing Analytics by
The authors of the pioneering Cutting-Edge Marketing Analytics return to the vital conversation of leveraging big data with Marketing Analytics: Essential Tools for Data-Driven Decisions, which updates and expands on the earlier book as we enter the 2020s. As they illustrate, big data analytics is the engine that drives marketing, providing a forward-looking, predictive perspective for marketing decision-making. The book presents actual cases and data, giving readers invaluable real-world instruction. The cases show how to identify relevant data, choose the best analytics technique, and investigate the link between marketing plans and customer behavior. These actual scenarios shed light on the most pressing marketing questions, such as setting the optimal price for one's product or designing effective digital marketing campaigns. Big data is currently the most powerful resource to the marketing professional, and this book illustrates how to fully harness that power to effectively maximize marketing efforts.
Prediction and Causality in Econometrics and Related Topics by
This book provides the ultimate goal of economic studies to predict how the economy develops--and what will happen if we implement different policies. To be able to do that, we need to have a good understanding of what causes what in economics. Prediction and causality in economics are the main topics of this book's chapters; they use both more traditional and more innovative techniques--including quantum ideas -- to make predictions about the world economy (international trade, exchange rates), about a country's economy (gross domestic product, stock index, inflation rate), and about individual enterprises, banks, and micro-finance institutions: their future performance (including the risk of bankruptcy), their stock prices, and their liquidity. Several papers study how COVID-19 has influenced the world economy. This book helps practitioners and researchers to learn more about prediction and causality in economics -- and to further develop this important research direction.
Remote Work Technology by
Your small business survival guide for the remote work environment In Remote Work Technology: Keeping Your Small Business Thriving From Anywhere, experienced SaaS and telecommunications entrepreneur Henry Kurkowski delivers a step-by-step walkthrough for using SaaS technology and communication apps to power your small business from anywhere on the planet. You'll learn how to capitalize on the ability to hire a geographically distributed workforce and excel at serving clients at a distance. You'll also discover why and how you need to alter your approach to management and spot the common pitfalls that litter the way to a truly distributed business. This important book includes: Valuable case studies of businesses that embraced the reality of remote working during and after the COVID-19 pandemic and cautionary tales of unexpected challenges that arose during the transition. Discussions of how to incorporate remote workers into efficient workflows to increase your business' productivity Explorations of how to support your employees when you can't just pop into their office Perfect for small business founders, owners, and managers, Remote Work Technology is also a must-read guide for independent contractors who work directly with small businesses and entrepreneurs.
Boom and Bust by
Why do stock and housing markets sometimes experience amazing booms followed by massive busts and why is this happening more and more frequently? In order to answer these questions, William Quinn and John D. Turner take us on a riveting ride through the history of financial bubbles, visiting, among other places, Paris and London in 1720, Latin America in the 1820s, Melbourne in the 1880s, New York in the 1920s, Tokyo in the 1980s, Silicon Valley in the 1990s and Shanghai in the 2000s. As they do so, they help us understand why bubbles happen, and why some have catastrophic economic, social and political consequences whilst others have actually benefited society. They reveal that bubbles start when investors and speculators react to new technology or political initiatives, showing that our ability to predict future bubbles will ultimately come down to being able to predict these sparks.
Government and Not-For-Profit Accounting by
Unlike other government and not-for-profit (NFP) books, this one is directed at potential users rather than preparers of financial reports. It demonstrates the significance of reported information and shows users (managers, investors, taxpayers, legislators, trustees) how to interpret and analyze accounting information.
The Upside of Uncertainty by
A science-backed guide for navigating and thriving through uncertainty--based on interviews and insights from world-renowned leaders, innovators, entrepreneurs, artists, and creatives. Whether you're searching for courage to start a new project, change careers, launch a business, develop an idea, or reinvent yourself after a disappointment or life change, you will face uncertainty--that ambiguous and uncomfortable state that often makes us feel confused, anxious, and afraid to act. Though these moments are difficult, they offer opportunities for personal growth, innovation, and creativity. In The Upside of Uncertainty, INSEAD professor Nathan Furr and entrepreneur Susannah Harmon Furr provide a sweeping guide to embracing uncertainty and transforming it into a force for good. Drawing from hundreds of interviews, along with pioneering research in psychology, innovation, and behavioral economics, Nathan and Susannah provide dozens of tools--including mental models, techniques, and reflections--for seeing the upside of uncertainty, developing a vision for what to do next, and opening ourselves up to new possibilities. In our fast-paced, ever-changing world, uncertainty is on the rise. We face it every day. But few of us have been taught the techniques to navigate it well. The Upside of Uncertainty provides the inspiration, tools, and strategies you need to thrive through the inevitable plot twists in your life and career.
