Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Coronavirus

Quick links for updates and resources

Information

This page will continue to be updated as new services become available.

In this difficult time, many publishers and vendors are making portions of their resources available temporarily for use in distance learning.  Below is a list of currently know offerings you may be able to use in your classes.

Note: with so many more people using streaming services for distance learning, there may be connection issues.

Featured Resources

Wall Street Journal Digital Edition

CUNY is providing free access to the online subscription Wall Street Journal. Create an individual account using your Queens College email address. Professors and staff retain WSJ access for one year after activating. You will be asked to re-activate in one year. Students creating accounts are required to input graduation date and year. This becomes the account expiration date. Students who graduate later than expected and lose access, can always re-activate accounts. If you already have an account, call 1-800-568-7625) to switch from paid account to a Queens College account and receive a balance refund. https://partner.wsj.com/enter-redemption-code/CUNYnd5wtb6z

Description: City University of New York (CUNY) has partnered with The Wall Street Journal to provide sponsored memberships to all students, faculty, and staff.
Activate Membership
To take advantage of WSJ’s election resources, students must activate their membership at wsj.com/CUNY. It’s more important than ever that your students know they have sponsored access to reliable and trustworthy election insights.
Talk 2020
Our new tool searches years of public statements, so you can track the candidates’ positions over time, hone in on the issues and get your questions answered. Share this great resource with your students so they can stay informed on the issues as the election enters the home stretch.
Election+Business Newsletter
Another valuable resource for students is our weekly 2020 Election+Business Newsletter. This dives into business, finance and the election, looking at how companies are tackling the challenges and opportunities of politics and policy. It’s a perfect way for students to see the election through a business lens.
We will continually seek to support City University of New York (CUNY) and its students with new resources and membership benefits. Look out for our virtual events on WSJ+ and an array of student resources at education.wsj.com. As always, please feel free to reach out with any questions or feedback on how we can support this partnership further.

Psychotherapy.net

We at Psychotherapy.net believe that great therapists never stop learning. And one of the most effective ways to learn is to watch master therapists actually conducting psychotherapy. In 1995 psychologist Victor Yalom videotaped one of his mentors, James Bugental, PhD conducting psychotherapy sessions with the goal of preserving his work to allow others to observe his mastery. One thing led to another, and Psychotherapy.net was born. Queens College is providing access to this database until May 31st.
Type:Videos

DSM Library

American Psychiatric Association Publishing is the world’s premier publisher of books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and behavioral science. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM–5) is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.
Types: E-Books, Full-Text

PubMed

Note: Most PubMed records are MEDLINE citations.
Freely accessible database developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed provides access to: MEDLINE, a bibliographic database with citations and author abstracts from over 5,600 biomedical journals; PubMed Central (PMC), a digital archive of biomedical journals/manuscripts from participating publishers; and includes links to the integrated molecular biology databases, as well as to chemical information.
Dates: 1950-present
Sources: Journals - Abstracts/Citations, full-text with Find it!

Temporary Free Access (Some resources require QC barcode authentication)

Electronic Resources (databases, ebooks, ejournals, streaming videos)

Reference E-Book Collections

Popular E-Book Collections

News and Media Resources

Streaming and Video Resources

Open Access Resources

Oxford Text Archive

A repository of full-text literary and linguistic resources.Thousands of texts in more than 25 languages.
Types: E-books

Public Books Database

With university classrooms and libraries shuttered because of the COVID-19 crisis, scholars are facing disruptions not only in their teaching lives but also in their ability to access research materials. In response, many academic presses have made hundreds of their titles freely accessible online. The Public Books Database aims to catalog such resources in a single location and to highlight titles of particular interest. We’ll be updating the list regularly as additional materials are made available.
Types: E-books

PLoS (Public Library of Science)

Collection of peer-reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals; includes original research as well as timely feature articles.
Dates: 2003-present
Sources: Journals - Full-text

Directory of Open Access Books

A service of OAPEN Foundation based at the National Library in The Hague. Database contains more than 5,000 academic, peer-reviewed books from 163 publishers.
Types: E-books

University of Michigan Press e-books

Beginning on Friday, March 20, access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the UMP EBC until the end of April 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized.
Types: Ebooks

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Note: Queens College is not a member library. Our access is limited to the general collections.
Types: E-books

Making of America Books

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The book collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books with 19th century imprints.
Types: E-books

Universal Library

The Universal Library Project, sometimes called the Million Books Project, was pioneered by Jaime Carbonell, Raj Reddy, Michael Shamos, Gloriana St Clair, and Robert Thibadeau of Carnegie Mellon University. The Governments of India, China, and Egypt are helping fund this effort through scanning facilities and personnel. The Internet Archive has contributed 100k books from the Kansas City Public Library along with servers to India. The Indian government scanned the appropriate books. The Internet Archive has performed automated conversion of these scans into this collection.
Types: E-books

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 22% of which comes from sponsors and 78% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Types: E-Journals