Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Videos

This guide provides a list of our streaming video platforms.

Searching for Streaming Content in OneSearch

  • OneSearch is the QC Libraries' Catalogue
  • You may search for streaming videos, ebooks, print books, ejournals, databases, articles, etc in OneSearch
  • For Streaming Media, search by title. For example, Atonement
  • From there on the right-hand "Filter my results" section select the following:
    • Limit to Full-Text Online
    • Resource Type - Videos
  • This will retrieve all electronic streaming videos with the word Atonement in the title
  • The below screenshot is what you will see after you conduct a search

  • Then select the "Available Online" link which will take you to the Full record as seen below:

  • Then under View Online - Try a Link Below! - Select from one of the options such as SWANK Motion Pictures, Inc.
  • That will take you to our Proxy page where you will need to sign in with your CUNYCredentials - firstname.lastnameNN@login.cuny.edu
  • Our Remote Access page details how to sign in

  • Once you sign-in, you will be taken to the platform. For this example, it is Swank as shown below:

Available Subscription Dates

  • Please note that the QC Libraries subscribe to many Streaming Videos content/platforms including Swank and Kanopy.
  • For every streaming video, within the View Online - Try a link below! area, you will see the available dates
  • Those dates represent the period the content is available
  • For example: Atonement and most Swank content are available from 04/27/2020 to 6/30/2021
  • Should the Library be able to extend the subscription then the dates will be adjusted. If not then the content will no longer be accessible in the catalogue, OneSearch or directly on the platforms.

Accessing Streaming Videos via the A-Z Database List

The QC Libraries A-Z Database List provides a comprehensive list of all of our databases including all of our Streaming Videos Platforms.

  • Once on the A-Z Database List, toggle to Database Subject - Streaming Videos
  • From there all of the libraries' Streaming Videos platforms/databases will be retrieved
  • You may select the database of your choice
  • You will be required to provide your CUNY Credentials in order to access
  • Our Remote Access page details how to sign in

Electronic Resources Status Dashboard

 

Remote Access

All Queens College students, staff, and faculty can access to the libraries’ electronic resources off-campus. To use databases and electronic resources while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College when prompted.

Please note that the library has updated its catalog and as such barcodes are no longer supported. However, if you are unable to login as suggested below, please complete the form:https://qc-cuny.libwizard.com/f/ElectronicResources_Access_Form and include your barcode number. We will work to resolve the issue.

In order to access library databases, resources and your account, you may login with your CUNY Login Credentials. Your CUNY Login credentials follow the  pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.

When you select a resource from the A-Z Database Page or One Search, you will first see the following page:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then automatically be redirected to the following:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page: https://managelogin.cuny.edu/OIMSelfService/

For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please visit this page: https://www.cuny.edu/about/administration/offices/cis/cuny-login-faq/

Please complete the Electronic Resources Access Form: https://qc-cuny.libwizard.com/f/ElectronicResources_Access_Form if you are experiencing any technical issues and/or need further assistance. You may also contact us via one of the listed options:

Streaming Videos - Public Performance Rights (PPR)

Public Performance Rights (PPR) are legal rights to show a film or video (streaming media) to the public. Typically, the media producer or distributor handles these rights and often includes them with the purchase. However, the rights-holder may assign PPR using a separate Public Performance License.

The Federal Copyright Act (Title 17 of the US Code) requires PPR  for public viewing of copyrighted media outside of the regular curriculum. This applies whether or not an admission fee is included. Examples:

  • film festivals
  • meetings, programs, and events on campus
  • movie nights sponsored by students or other groups

Please complete the Suggest-A-Title-for-Purchase-Form with the details of the item that you need and our team will get back to you as soon as possible.

Suggest-a-Title-for-Purchase

How Streaming Audio and Video Works

Useful Links