Research Guides: Family, Nutrition & Exercise Sciences (FNES) Guide: OER Resources

Please review our libguide for more information on Open Educational Resources and Zero Textbook Costs. Should you have any questions, please contact Dr. Walker at lwalker@qc.cuny.edu

Concepts of Fitness and Wellness by Scott Flynn, Lisa Jellum, Jonathan Howard, et. al.d Description: Explores topics in fitness and wellness including healthy behaviours, nutrition and fitness principles. Scope: Introductory Concepts in fitness and wellness Audience Undergraduate Students
Publication Date: 2018
Health Education by College of the Canyons Description: Readers will learn about the nature of health, health education, health promotion and related concepts. This will help to understand the social, psychological and physical components of health Scope:Introduction to health education Audience: Undergraduate students
Publication Date: 2018
Human Nutrition by Marie Kainoa Fialkowski Revilla (Adapted by, Edited and Translated by, Editor); Alan Titchenal (Editor, Edited and Translated by, Adapted by) This textbook serves as an introduction to nutrition for undergraduate students and is the OER textbook for the FSHN 185 The Science of Human Nutrition course at the University of Hawai'i at M¿noa. The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
ISBN: 9781948027014
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Nutrition: Science and Everyday Application by Alice Callahan; Heather Leonard; Tamberly Powell This book is currently in development and should be considered a beta version, slated for completion in 2021. It is designed as an OER text and learning resource for undergraduate students enrolled in FN 225 Nutrition at Lane Community College in Eugene, Oregon. The book covers basic nutrition and metabolism, information literacy, energy balance, nutrition across life stages, dietary supplements, an in-depth look at each of the macronutrients, and major functions of vitamins and minerals.
ISBN: 9781636350035
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Safety, Health, and Nutrition in Early Childhood Education by Jennifer Paris, College of the Canyons Description:Early childhood is a critical time in development. Many outcomes, both positive and negative, have their beginnings in these years. It is vital that children’s health and safety be protected. High-quality early care and education programs can play a valuable role in improving outcomes Scope: Introduction to Early Childhood Health and Education Audience: Undergraduate Students
Publication Date: 2018

About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
Determining whether herbs, vitamins, and other over-the-counter dietary supplements would be helpful or harmful to you can be challenging. Will a substance work as the label states it will? Is it likely to interact with your cancer medicines? Is it worth the cost?
USDA MyPlate
MyPlate Kitchen, formerly What's Cooking? USDA Mixing Bowl, provides recipes and resources to support building healthy and budget-friendly meals. MyPlate Kitchen includes recipes from the USDA Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) programs including the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP) and the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).
USDA National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
The Historical Dietary Guidance Digital Collection allows the public to discover and research the history of nutrition education and dietary advice online. Materials in this collection include historical nutrition education materials, such as posters, recipes, and radio transcripts, as well as current nutrition education materials.

FNES 166 First Aid and Safety Syllabus Description: Syllabus - CUNY Academic Works. All freely available resources used in the syllabus Scope: First Aid knowledge: Participants will learn Adult, Child and Infant Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) with and without an Automated External Defibrillator (AED) as well as basic First Aid and Bleeding Control. Additional training in Oxygen Administration, Rescue Inhaler assistance, Epinephrine auto injector administration, and tourniquet use for bleeding control will be pres
Food Science, Dietetics and Nutrition - CTE Online Model The Food Science, Dietetics, and Nutrition Pathway focuses on three specializations centered on the science of food in food prepartation and development and its relationship to the health and well-being of individuals. Students pursuing this career pathway learn observational and analytical skills in food safety and sanitation; the chemistry of food; chemical and biological processes; functional and nutritional components of food; sensory evaluation; guidelines for a healthy diet; the psychology of food and eating; specialized diet planning; food production and processing; and packaging and product development.
The Mathematics of Nutrition Science The Mathematics of Nutrition Science is a workbook designed to integrate and contextualize developmental mathematics into an introductory college level Nutrition class. Definitions and skills from Community College Level Elementary Algebra and Quantitative Literacy courses are explained through examples analyzing the nutritional content of different foods. The book contains exercises for students to practice these skills, and also to reflect on the concepts through short writing assignments aligned with developmental English. These materials could be used by Nutrition course instructor in many different ways, and are designed to be self-contained and require minimal mathematical instruction.
Nutritional Health, Food Production, and the Environment This course provides an understanding of the complex and challenging public health issue of food security and in a world where one billion people are under-nourished while another billion are overweight. Explores the connections among diet, the current food production system, the environment and public health, considering factors such as economics, population and equity. Case studies are used to examine these complex relationships and as well as alternative approaches to achieving both local and global food security and the important role public health can play. Guest lecturers include experts from a variety of disciplines and experiences.