Users may access OneSearch via our main QC Libraries webpage -- Quick Links -- OneSearch. Once on OneSearch, you may search for articles by title or keyword. For example: How Important is Parental Education for Child Nutrition?
Note: Searching by exact title should place your article in the first or first few items. You may filter to peer-reviewed articles, Resources Type, publication date, etc. Then select the Available Online option to be taken to the record.
If off-campus, you will need to sign into proxy using your CUNY Credentials firstname.lastnameNN@cuny.login.edu. For more information, please review the Remote Access FAQ. Once you do so, you should be taken to the article.
Questions?
If you do not know the title of an article, search by search terms by utilizing the Advanced Search Feature of OneSearch. Example: Parental Education AND Child Nutrition. Type the terms into the Advanced Search box and filter to Articles or date.
Your search will retrieve results as shown below and you can select the Available Online link to be taken to the article. The filter on the left can also be used to narrow your searches.
If you are accustomed to using Google Scholar to search for articles, then we recommend that you use the Queens College Libraries' proxied Google Scholar. This will expand the results you retrieve. You will have access to freely available articles online and articles that the library owns and/or subscribes to.
Getting started with Google Scholar
Once on Google Scholar, you may begin searching for articles by title or keyword. For example: Evidence-based interventions for improvement of maternal and child nutrition: what can be done and at what cost?
Questions?
Known Issues with Google Scholar
If you see the following error message when you try to access Google Scholar via the A-Z Database List, it is because Google sometimes blocks access via libraries' proxy server. Google does not provide information when this happens and often times the situation resolves itself. Access on campus should not be affected.
We recommend taking the following steps should you encounter this issue:
Questions?
What OneSearch Searches?
OneSearch will try to find that term in the records by searching for
OneSearch searches entire records
What affects the ranking of the results retrieved from a OneSearch?
Relevance
Academic Relevance
If the search parameters are broad then OneSearch will place overview/reviews higher than actual materials. If you filter the publication date or if we recently added something to the catalog, those show up first.
Improving your Searches:
Boolean Operators
Quotations
Parentheses: can search more complex queries
Truncation: *
Wildcard: ?
Filters on the left hand side of the page. Use synonyms if your results are not what you want.
How to Retrieve Full-Text Articles from PubMed that are not freely available?
Let's try to search for Nutrition Protein by logging into PubMed through QC Libraries' A-Z Database List.
If you were to select the first option, you will then be taken to the following:
If you select the Elsevier tab on the top right, you will be taken to Elsevier-Science Direct.
Because you logged in through the QC Libraries A-Z Database page and the library has access to this title, you are able to see the download PDF button on the top left.
If you use PubMed often, you may do the following the following to ensure you see the Find It @ CUNY button:
• Sign up for an NCBI account and select Queens College, CUNY as one of your schools
• Bookmark the following: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=nyqucolib
o Once you access PubMed via the following link you will automatically view the FIND IT @ CUNY button.
To Search PubMed:
Just browsing?: consider using the Best Match filter
Tips for Using PubMed: a PDF guide prepared by the National Library of Medicine.
How do I search PubMed?
For many searches, it is not necessary to use special tags or syntax. PubMed uses multiple tools to help you find relevant results:
How can I focus my search?
To limit the number of search results:
How can I expand my search?
How can I narrow my search on PubMed to limit to original research articles?
PICO Search: An Overview
PICO: Problem, Intervention, Comparison and Outcome.
The PICO process is used to develop a good clinical research question. The following 7 steps can help you develop a sound research question:
Utilize CINHAL Complete via the QC A-Z Database List to conduct your search. For more example on PICO strategy, please review: PICO Tables.
You may also use the PICO Builder
Branching out: The MeSH Vocabulary (Video opens in new video)
An 11-minute video by the NLM on the use of the MeSH vocabulary. The video may be helpful to those with interest in MEDLINE.
Find Articles on a Topic (Video opens in new video)
A short video by the NLM
Find Articles by Author (Video opens in new window)
The video details the various ways to search by Author
E.g. By Author's Last name and initials (Do not use punctuation) Abigail Mary Williams ----> williams am
Find Articles by Journal (Video opens in new window)
The video details the various ways to search by journal
Complete Journal Titles - E.g. Journal of Pediatric Surgery
ISSN: E.g. 1531-5037
Medline Journal Title Abbreviation
Find Articles by Citation (Video opens in new window)
The video details searching by citation. In Basic Search, type a. Author b. Article title c. Journal Name
PubMed Subject Search - How it works (Video opens in new window)
PubMed: Get the full-text for articles (Video opens in new window)
PubMed: Saved Searches and sent e-mail alerts (Video opens in new window)
What is Sport Discus?
Sport Discus with full text has coverage of articles dating back to the 1930s. Areas of coverage include sports studies in the areas of fitness, health, medicine, education, law, and business.
How do I access Sport Discus?
The QC Library provides access to Sport Discus. Access is available via the following portals:
Note: Users will be prompted to sign into the library’s proxy using your CUNYCredentials–the same that you use for Blackboard and CUNYFirst. For more information, please review our remote access FAQ.
Should you encounter any technical or access issues, then please Report It by completing the Electronic Resources Access Form.
To begin searching, enter a keyword relating to your topic in the basic search box. E.g.Nutrition will provide you with the results below.
You may also refine your search to peer-reviewed titles, a particular date range, subject, publication (a specific journal), language or geography.
How do I download or read an article in Sport Discus?
Once you selected your article(s), you may choose HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text. In some cases, both will be available. However sometimes, there is only one of these options available.
If you are not satisfied with your results from your BASIC SEARCH and by applying filters, then you may want to conduct an ADVANCED SEARCH. You may add multiple keywords/subjects and utilize the Boolean operators –AND, OR,NOT. E.g.Nutrition AND Metabolism.
Note: Not all items within the database will be full-text. Some will be bibliographic records which contain information about the author, title, publication, etc. If you need an article where full-text is not available, we recommend the following:
The QC Library provides access to APA PsycINFO. Access is available via the following portal:
Note: Users will be prompted to sign into the library’s proxy using your CUNYCredentials–the same that you use for Blackboard and CUNYFirst. For more information, please review our remote access FAQ.
Should you encounter any technical or access issues, then please Report It by completing the Electronic Resources Access Form.
Tips for Searching:
1. Under Methodology: Select the Empirical Study Limiter
2. To view Test titles: Select Test and Measurements under Indexes
Useful Links on Browsing and Searching:
Searching
Browsing
****Information provided by EBSCO
Tips:
Search by:
Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders, Fifth Edition by
This clinical reference and widely adopted text is recognized as the premier guide to understanding and treating frequently encountered psychological disorders in adults. Showcasing evidence-based psychotherapy models, the volume addresses the most pressing question asked by students and practitioners--"How do I do it?" Leading authorities present state-of-the-art information on each clinical problem, explain the conceptual and empirical bases of their respective approaches, and show what the techniques look like in action. Extended case examples with session transcripts illustrate each component of treatment. New to This Edition *Incorporates treatment innovations, the latest empirical findings, and changes to diagnostic criteria in DSM-5. *Chapter on acceptance-based treatment of generalized anxiety disorder. *Chapter on comorbid depression and substance abuse, demonstrating a transdiagnostic approach. *Chapter on sleep disorders. See also Handbook of Assessment and Treatment Planning for Psychological Disorders, Third Edition, edited by Martin M. Antony and David H. Barlow, and Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders in Children and Adolescents, edited by Christopher A. Flessner and John C. Piacentini.
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Volume 1 by
In one volume, the leading researchers in intelligence and neuropsychological assessment interpret the range of issues related to intellectual and neuropsychological tests, including test development and psychometrics, clinical applications, ethical and legal concerns, use with diverse populations, computerization, and the latest research. Clinicians and researchers who use these instruments will find this volume invaluable, as it contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date information available on this important aspect of practice.
Educational Research - the Ethics and Aesthetics of Statistics by
Statistics are everywhere. Their power and their undoubted efficacy in many areas have given rise to faith in measurement and metrics. More of them will tell us all that we need to know. Their use carries with it a number of presuppositions: that reality can be satisfactorily represented and that it can be controlled or the risks managed. The papers in this book interpret the ethics and aesthetics of statistics in terms of representation, visualisation and accessibility, focus on the appeal of 'simplicity', of technical languages, numbers, diagrams and pictures, and pay attention to their connection with action plans.The book explores what has made educational researchers dependent on statistics, and deals with their use in areas such as the prevalence of maltreatment of children, European citizenship, well-being and happiness, illegal migrants, and university expansion. There is discussion of how the quest for more and better statistics finds its voice in policy initiatives that become slogans, and how public opinion polls are used to rationalise political decision-making. Can a more limited and modest use be made of statistics which does not deflect attention away from education's core business and which does not destroy the local practical knowledge that on which good education is based?'Smeyers and Depaepe continue to bring together a significant international group of educational philosophers and historians on topics of importance to researchers. This fifth volume in their series takes up the 'gold standard' use of statistics in case studies not contributed elsewhere. I highly recommend this text to counter a current over-emphasis on technique in research methodology. Use of statistics remains but herein under new, insightful conceptualizations.'Lynda Stone, Philosophy of Education, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA'Once again, Depaepe and Smeyers succeeded in bringing together distinguished international and cross-disciplinary scholars exploring very timely and critical issues in current educational research. This is a groundbreaking book on a theme that can't be ignored by educational researchers and those interested in a better understanding of the culture of science and science as culture. Moreover, the present book instigates to study history of educationalresearch, a limited but developing field, and invites reflection to those who are sometimes too reliant on number crunching as a mode of interpretation and rather credulous in the acceptance of institutional records.Frank Simon, Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences, Ghent University, Belgium
The Environment of Human Development by
Families, communities and societies influence children's learning and development in many ways. This is the first handbook devoted to the understanding of the nature of environments in child development. Utilizing Urie Bronfenbrenner's idea of embedded environments, this volume looks at environments from the immediate environment of the family (including fathers, siblings, grandparents and day-care personnel) to the larger environment including schools, neighborhoods, geographic regions, countries and cultures. Understanding these embedded environments and the ways in which they interact is necessary to understand development.
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health by
Psychiatric clinicians should use rating scales and questionnaires often, for they not only facilitate targeted diagnoses and treatment; they also facilitate links to empirical literature and systematize the entire process of management. Clinically oriented and highly practical, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an ideal tool for the busy psychiatrist, clinical psychologist, family physician, or social worker. In this ground-breaking text, leading researchers provide reviews of the most commonly used outcome and screening measures for the major psychiatric diagnoses and treatment scenarios. The full range of psychiatric disorders are covered in brief but thorough chapters, each of which provides a concise review of measurement issues related to the relevant condition, along with recommendations on which dimensions to measure - and when. The Handbook also includes ready-to-photocopy versions of the most popular, valid, and reliable scales and checklists, along with scoring keys and links to websites containing on-line versions. Moreover, the Handbook describes well known, structured, diagnostic interviews and the specialized training requirements for each. It also includes details of popular psychological tests (such as neuropsychological, personality, and projective tests), along with practical guidelines on when to request psychological testing, how to discuss the case with the assessment consultant and how to integrate information from the final testing report into treatment. Focused and immensely useful, the Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health is an invaluable resource for all clinicians who care for patients with psychiatric disorders.
Handbook of Physical Education by
What is the condition of the field of Physical Education? How is it adapted to the rise of kinesiology, sport and exercise science and human movement studies over the last thirty years? This Handbook provides an authoritative critical overview of the field and identifies future challenges and directions. The Handbook is divided in to six sections: Perspectives and Paradigms in Physical Education Research Cross-disciplinary Contributions to Research Philosophy Learning in Physical Education Teaching Styles and Inclusive Pedagogies Physical Education Curriculum Difference and Diversity in Physical Education This is a benchmark work which will be essential reading for educators and students in the field of Physical Education.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
Measuring Health by 
Measuring Race and Ethnicity by
Racial and ethnic issues stand at the core of social, political, and economic concerns in an increasingly diverse America. Accordingly, how individuals from the various ethnic groups regard themselves--and others--is a salient focus of research studies across the disciplines. Measuring Race and Ethnicity gathers psychological measures of common phenomena such as racial identity, acculturation, and intra- and intergroup relations enabling researchers to compare concepts across groups and better evaluate differences and disparities.Researchers in psychology, social work, and public health examining cultural and race-related topics will find an immediately relevant source of valid and reliable scales in Measuring Race and Ethnicity.
Research and Practice in Physical Education by
Research findings in education can provide invaluable insight into how teaching practice can be improved, but research papers are often inaccessible and hard to digest. This innovative new text is designed to assist physical education　students, pre-service teachers, practising teachers and teacher educators to learn how to read research and to apply it to practice in primary and secondary physical education. The text also provides insights and implications for those working with young people in physical activity and sport settings. The book presents a clear, step-by-step guide to how to read and interpret research, followed by a series of short and engaging introductions to contemporary research studies on key topics in physical education, from classroom management and programme design to assessment and social issues. Each study is discussed from the point of view of researcher, teacher educator　and primary and post primary teacher, providing the reader with invaluable insight into how to use research to generate new ideas and improve their teaching practice. Research and Practice in Physical Education is the perfect companion to any course in research methods, current issues, learning and teaching, or pedagogy and curriculum in physical education.
Research Methods in Physical Education and Youth Sport by
This is the first research methods book to focus entirely on physical education and youth sport.nbsp;It guides the reader through the wholenbsp;research process; from the first steps to completion of a dissertation or practice-based project, and introduces key topics such as: formulating a research question qualitative approaches quantitative approaches mixed method research literature review case studies survey, interviews and focus groups data analysis writing the dissertation. Each chapter includes a full range of useful pedagogical features, including chapter summaries, practical activities, case studies, dialogues with active researchers and guidance on further reading and resources. With contributions from some of the world's best-known researchers in the field, this book is indispensible reading for all students and professionals working in physical education, youth sport, sports coaching and related subjects.
The SAGE Handbook of Measurement by
The SAGE Handbook of Measurement is a unique methodological resource in which Walford, Viswanathan, and Tucker draw together contributions from the authors of the classic works in Measurement studies of the past twenty five years. Each chapter focuses on a different aspect of Measurement, so that the Handbook as a whole covers the full spectrum of core issues related to design, method, and analysis within measurement studies. The Handbook covers the full range of disciplines where Measurement studies are common; policy studies, education studies, health studies, business studies, etc.
The Wiley Handbook of Personality Assessment by
The Wiley Handbook of Personality Assessment presents the state-of-the-art in the field of personality assessment, providing a perspective on emerging trends, and placing these in the context of research advances in the associated fields. Explores emerging trends and perspectives in personality assessment, building on current knowledge and looking ahead to the future landscape of the field Discusses emerging technologies and how these can be combined with psychological theories in order to enhance the real-world practice of assessing personality Comprehensive sections address gaps in current knowledge and collate contributions and advances from diverse areas and perspectives The chapter authors are eminent scholars from across the globe who bring together new research from many different countries and cultures
