Hello! Welcome to ECON 223W guide. This guide aims to help you use QC Libraries' Economics and business resources and library services through Queens College Libraries Website. Reading this guide and doing the suggested exercises, you should be able to:
QC libraries provide quality resources for economics research, such as scholarly journals and full-text journal articles, e-books, newspaper articles, data sources, etc. You can use powerful library search tools to find what you need:
** E-Journals
-- A-Z Databases: Economics Databases, Business Databases
** Please remember, you need your CUNYFirst credentials to access library E-resources if you work off campus.
Access using your CUNYfirst ID followed by @login.cuny.edu, and your CUNYfirst password.
Your CUNY Login credentials follow the pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.
If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page.
For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please visit CUNY Login FAQs.
We are here to help you! Please do not hesitate to ask us questions:
See Visiting - Queens College Libraries (cuny.edu) for more information.
What is your research topic or research question(s)? Generally, a research starts with a general topic in which you are interested. For example, you may be interested in one of following topics:
If you need more background information about a topic, you can find reference resources via:
In the meantime, you may need to think about what research question(s) you may present based on the topic. To formulate a research question about your topic, you may need to read more literature relevant to your topic.
To find literature or resources (i.e., scholarly articles, newspaper articles, e-books, etc.) relevant to your topic, you can do a brainstorm to generate some keywords for searching. In addition to the concept(s) of your topic, the keywords can be the terms related to the concept(s) in your topic, for example:
** Tips – take notes to gather keywords when you're brainstorming, reading and searching.
The best place to start your search for books is OneSearch, which can be accessed from the Queens College Libraries homepage. OneSearch searches across multiple library resources from one interface. It finds books, articles, digital content, and other resources -- but it works best at finding books. You can use OneSearch to find both print book and e-books.
Start by entering basic search terms in the search box, then select "Search." You'll be able to limit your results in the next step.
Tip: If you know what you're looking for, use the title or author as your search term.
America History & Life. Books and articles in history, including economic history for the United States Canada and Mexico.
Econlit. Most comprehensive database to scholarly journal articles in economics. Also lists books and dissertations, and articles within collective works.
Historical Abstracts. Historical database for books and articles on all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to present.
Google Scholar. Database for articles books and papers. On campus it connects to licensed content held by the QC libraries.
Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
EconLit with Full Text is the most reliable full-text database for economic research that offers hundreds of full-text journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Historical Abstracts is the definitive full-text database covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Economist Historical Archive. Complete searchable copy of the Economist since it was first published in 1843 through 2020.
U.S. Newsstream. Enables users to search current U.S. news content (The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune), as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s.
Making of the Modern World. an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation.
Founded in 1843, The Economist is renowned for its consistent approach to internationalism and championing of minimal state in political and government affairs.
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content (The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune), as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Gale Primary Sources: Making of the Modern World covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, and the condition and making of the working class.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 19th Century (1851-2018).
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. The complete text of recent articles is provided in ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
NYTimes.com Passes grant digital access to The New York Times.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
Note: Use your Queens College email to create an account.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Please sign to QC Library when prompted to browse articles within the Queens College Library collections.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Some tips to use library resources for your research:
Pay attention:
E.g., econo* = economic, economics, economies, economy, economical, etc.
- CRAAP: Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose/Point of View
- Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
- Primary vs. Secondary Sources
* annual reports, financial statements, press releases, interviews, speeches, blog entries or tweets vs. industry market reports, articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, trade publications
- Apply citation rules consistently
- Check errors in auto-generated citations
Includes FAQ and tutorial about using APA style guide
- Cite " " 
- Full-text (PDF) download 
- Find it @ CUNY 
- Email 