Finding articles
Finding facts and data
Identifying & evaluating sources
Citing references
Find Articles:
Find Statistics:
1. Type a company name (e.g., Sprint) in the main search box.
2. On the results page, click Market Share Reports link or the Rankings link.
Find rankings of companies:
1. Select Companies > select Company Finder.
2. Select NAICS on the left navigation column > type in NAICS industry code in the search box or highlight the industry from the available listings.
3. The companies are ranked by revenue.
Databases
Type a company name (e.g., Nike) in the main search box > On the results page, click Brands link.
Nexis/Uni home page > Select Company Dossier on menu > select an interesting parent company > select Brands from the left menu
Websites
Brand Index
Current Industrial Reports
ThomasNet
WIPO global brands database
Population
American Community Survey (ACS)
United States Census Data
Census 2010
People and Households
State and County QuickFacts
U.S. Census: How to get the most out of Census.gov
Purchasing
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Federal Reserve System
Survey of Consumer Finance
Nexis Uni
Home page > select All Sources from Menu > select Nexis Uni All Sources > type New Strategist (a publisher) in the Search Within Sources box, then Search > find an interesting title > click down arrow button > click Get Documents
Life Styles, Attitudes & Trends
American Customer Satisfaction Index
American Time Use Survey
Current Population Survey
Marketing Charts
MicroMoments
Pew Global Attitudes Project
Radio Advertising Bureau
StateMaster
YouGov Profiles
1. Select Advanced Search
2. Type a keyword about a trade association in a search box > click drop down arrow on the right of Keyword field behind the search box > click Search button
3. On the results page, click View All link to see the list of associations or select any filters on the left menu per your interests.
1). Click Browse on the top of the interface.
2). Click First Research under Industry and Market Research
3). Find your industry from A-Z list > scroll down to browse > click View Documents
Search Tips:
1). Type a keyword (e.g., airlines) in a search box > click Search
2). On the results page, Filter Source Types (e.g., Industry Profiles), Geography (United States), etc.
3). Click an interesting title (e.g., "Airlines Industry Profile: the United States") > click PDF
4). Apply more filters per your interests
Smart research. Smarter investing.
Find statistical data; historical, economic, and political information. A source for global business knowledge at Michigan State University.
Find information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, and more for 267 world entities. The information are collected by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Supermarket Facts
Find the facts and supermarket operations and consumer data from the Food Marketing Institute.
Encyclopedia of Corporate Names Worldwide by
This book gives the stories behind, or origins of, more than 3,500 commercial names. Many of them are American or British but a number originate in countries such as France, Germany, Italy and Japan. From A & C (publishers) to Zyklon (insecticide), entries cover two types of subjects: company names and the names of products and services. The companies have names derived from their founders or benefactors, such as Dell computers and Lamborghini automobiles; or from placenames, such as Land O'Lakes dairy products and Halex table tennis balls; or from a story, such as Ratrac snow tractors or Hang Ten surfwear. The entries for product names explain the origin of brand names, like Dannon yogurt and Laservision video system; trademarks, such as Harp beer and Holeproof hosiery; patented products like Demerol; and hard-to-categorize commercial names like the Dancercize program.
Encyclopedia of Global Brands by
From Timex to Rolex and from Levi's to Liz Clairborne, brand names conjure up definite images in the minds of most Americans. While brand loyalty may be going the way of the Edsel, the importance of product brands can't be easily dismissed. The 3-vol. Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands is the first reference of its kind to compile the origin, evolution and current market status of some of the world's most recognizable consumer brands. It's unrivaled comprehensive scope and generous article length make it a valuable reference for students, librarians, job seekers, advertising and business professionals and other researchers who want to learn about the historical and modern development of products that have impacted American culture. Each volume of the Encyclopedia contains approximately 200 entries, written in case-study style, that highlight interesting details including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history. Peppered throughout are fun facts and amusing anecdotes pertaining to the famous -- or infamous -- marketing strategies and advertising campaigns that managed to capture the sometimes jaded viewers' attention. Special features found throughout the Encyclopedia strengthen its usefulness. Look for helpful at-a-glance data boxes offering vital statistics including market share, major competitors, advertising agencies, parent company, address, phone and fax numbers. Researchers needing supplemental information can turn to the end of each entry for sources for further reading. Easy-to-use brand name, company and persons, advertising agency and category indexes allow users to quickly locate and cross-reference brand information.
Portions of this page were adapted from Baker University's LibGuide (https://lib.bakeru.edu/marketing-research) and Baruch College's LibGuide (http://guides.newman.baruch.cuny.edu/industry)
