Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy Research Guide

Ebook Collections

Ebook Collections

Ebooks from our various QC collections and from Open Access collections are usually accessible through OneSearch but there are occasionally errors or omissions, so it's good to know what the other ebook collections are so you can search them directly.

QC Ebook Collections

On the Databases page you can sort the A-Z list to display databases that have ebook content within them. Under ‘All Database Types’ select ‘Electronic Books.’ Some ebook databases are devoted entirely to ebooks, while others have a variety of documents including ebooks. Here is a list of those that are useful for Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and other humanities and social science disciplines.

Open Access Ebook Collections

You can access ebooks freely that are open access. Some open access collections are valuable for older, historical titles that were published before 1925 and are now in the public domain (outside of copyright restrictions). Other collections contain contemporary or recently published titles.

Directory of Open Access Books

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)

Google Books

HathiTrust Digital Library

Internet Archive

Open Library

Oxford Text Archive

Project Gutenberg

Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy

Universal Library (Internet Archive)

Public Library Ebook Collections

New York public libraries also offer access to books and ebooks for New York State residents who register for a library card.

Brooklyn Public Library (BPL)

BPL: Ebooks & Audiobooks

BPL Get a Library Card

New York Public Library (NYPL)

NYPL: Books, Music, Movies

NYPL: Get a Library Card

Queens Public Library (QPL)

QPL: Books, Movies, & More

QPL: Get a Library Card