Research Guides: Philosophy Research Guide: Ethics in Business (PHIL 160, etc.)

Introduction

This guide will assist you in locating published scholarship (essays, books, chapters, journal articles, etc.) to read on a topic.

Choose a topic that is interesting to you and which will work within your assignment's parameters.
Read good summaries of the topic in subject encyclopedias, like those listed below.
Once you have a basic overview, then search for published scholarship in catalogs, databases, etc.

Remember to evaluate the accuracy of your sources, and think critically about their content and arguments.

Reference Essays (from Encyclopedias & Dictionaries)

Subject encyclopedias and other reference guides can provide good background information on a topic. Many reference books are in printed format, while others are available in electronic resource collections such as:

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Oxford Reference

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by Robert W. Kolb (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412916523
Publication Date: 2007-10-19
"Spans the relationships among business, ethics and society, with an emphasis on business ethics and the role of business in society...Key features include: - a broad coverage of corporate social responsibility; -the obligation of businesses to various stakeholder groups; - the contribution of business to society and culture; - the relationship of business to the quality of the environment, including the issue of environmental sustainability."
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime by Lawrence M. Salinger (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452225302
Publication Date: 2013-07-11
"Many experts attribute the near-Depression of 2008 to white-collar malfeasance, namely crimes of greed and excess by bankers and financial institutions. Whether the perpetrators were prosecuted or not, white-collar and corporate crime came near to collapsing the U.S. economy... White-collar criminals have been busy, and the Second Edition of this encyclopedia captures what has been going on in the news and behind the scenes with new articles and updates to past articles."
White-Collar and Corporate Crime by Gilbert Geis
ISBN: 9780313380549
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
"Documents white-collar crimes by individuals and businesses over the past 150 years, offering the most comprehensive array of documents and interpretations available...traces the fascinating history of white-collar and corporate criminal behavior from the 1800s through the 2010 passage of the Dodd-Frank financial reform measure...Contains numerous photographs that illustrate the subject material Includes a bibliography in each section that directs readers to supplementary sources."

Scholarly Books

OneSearch; Search for printed and electronic scholarly books at QC and other CUNY libraries.
WorldCat: Search for scholarly books in the national catalog for the United States and Canada. Includes holdings from libraries in other parts of the world, primarily European or English-speaking.

Scholarly Journal Articles (Search Databases)

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection includes key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review that focuses on global business trends.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
ABI/INFORM Collection includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for business students that covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals and e-books that include primary sources, images, and more.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
JSTOR provided expanded access during the pandemic (June 2020-June 2023). Expanded access expires on June 30, 2023. CUNY will reinstate that access beginning in January 2024.You may review the Electronic Resources Status Dashboard for updates. Questions? Email: access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a Ticket!
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Legal Source is the authoritative database for current issues, studies, thoughts, and trends in the legal world.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers intuitive searching for all levels of research experience, empowering students to Access discipline-focused pages with curated news, featured publications, and relevant court cases for Political Science, Business, and Criminal Justice majors.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
This current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; (1952-current).
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.

Philosophy Research Guide

Research Librarian

Introduction

Reference Essays (from Encyclopedias & Dictionaries)

Scholarly Books

Scholarly Journal Articles (Search Databases)

Writing Guides

Citation Sytle Manuals