Research Guides: Irish Studies: Irish Language Resources

Irish Language

These are some useful resources for practicing and learning the Irish language.

When you are searching for books, you will usually use one of two options:

CUNY Catalog
The CUNY Catalog is where we list all the books in our collection, along with many other resources we provide.
OneSearch
OneSearch is a tool that combines the catalog with the databases.

The main heading of interest is:

There are several related subheadings you may find interesting, including:

You can use these headings to find books useful for supplementing your textbooks or studying on your own.

Books on the Irish language can all be found together, at this call number:

Check Level 3 for dictionaries and similar works, and Level 5 for books you can check out.

Daltaí na Gaeilge
“Students of the Irish Language.” Includes grammar lessons, a list of useful phrases, and a discussion forum for questions. Please note that this work is done by volunteers, many of whom are still learning Irish.
focal.ie
Gateway to language resources developed by Dublin City University. Includes indexes, terminology, folklore and more.
Focal an Lae—Irish Word a Day
A blog offering a different Irish word every day, with sound recordings and example sentences.
Gaelige.ie
A portal to a wealth of Web resources on the Irish language. The Media page provides links to podcasts, online magazines and newspapers and more. Site is available in both English and Irish.
National Terminology Database for Irish
Twenty Year Strategy for the Irish Language, 2010-2030
Explains the Government's policies to promote the use of the Irish language.
Údarás na Gaeltachta
The regional authority responsible for the economic, social and cultural development of the Gaeltacht. Site is available in Irish and English.

These databases will not help you to learn Irish, but they may help you to learn more about Irish.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database with a little information on almost every subject, including articles on Irish language education, linguistics, and public policy regarding the Irish language. Try searching “Irish language” as a subject term.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Covers all fields of linguistics and all aspects of the study of language. “Irish Gaelic” is a descriptor.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A good source for information on the social issues surrounding the Irish language.