Skip to main content

History Research Guide: U. S. History: Social & Women's History (HIST 271, etc.)

Introduction

This guide will assist you in locating published scholarship (essays, books, chapters, journal articles, etc.) to read on a topic.

  1. Choose a topic that is interesting to you and which will work within your assignment's parameters.
  2. Read good summaries of the topic in subject encyclopedias, like those listed below.
  3. Once you have a basic overview, then search for published scholarship in catalogs, databases, etc.

Remember to evaluate the accuracy of your sources, and think critically about their content and arguments.

Reference Essays (from Encyclopedias & Dictionaries)


Subject encyclopedias and other reference guides can provide good background information on a topic. Many reference books are in printed format, while others are available in electronic resource collections such as:

Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)

Oxford Reference

 

Scholarly Books

 
OneSearch
Search for printed and electronic scholarly books at QC and other CUNY libraries.
 
WorldCat
Search for scholarly books in the national catalog for the United States and Canada. Includes holdings from libraries in other parts of the world, primarily European or English-speaking.

Scholarly Journal Articles (Search Databases)

What is a scholarly journal article?

A scholarly journal article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. It is written in the specialized language of a scholarly discipline (such as Philosophy). It documents the resources the writer used by providing bibliographic citations such as footnotes, endnotes, and bibliography so a reader can check or repeat the research the scholar has completed.

A scholarly journal is edited by scholars, and any article published in the journal has usually been approved by the author's peers or by referees (other scholars expert in the subject who serve as editors or readers and critique the article before it is accepted for publication). This is why most scholarly journals are referred to as a Peer-Reviewed or Refereed journals. Here is a comparison between popular and scholarly periodicals. There are usually several databases that can be used to search for journal articles on a topic.

Selected Journal for U. S. Social & Women's History

Standard peer-reviewed history journals usually cover U. S. social history, including women's history, and are usually indexed in databases such as America: History and Life, JSTOR (previous volumes), and Project Muse (recent volumes).

The following journals focus specifically on historical and/or contemporary issues relevant to women. Many of them are indexed in databases such as America: History and Life, JSTOR (previous volumes), and Project Muse (recent volumes).

Research Librarian

James Mellone's picture
James Mellone
Contact:
Prof. James Tasato Mellone
Historical, Cultural, and Social Sciences Librarian
Rosenthal Library 326
718-997-3623

Primary Sources

Primary sources are documents that date from the time period being studied, immediate to the events under investigation. These can include letters, diaries, business records, government papers, laws, treaties, etc. The usual subheading for primary sources in library catalogs is “sources.”. Sample subject headings for U. S. History:

  • United States -- History -- 1783-1815 -- Sources
  • United States -- History -- 1783-1865 -- Sources
  • United States -- History -- 1801-1809 -- Sources
  • United States -- History -- 1815-1861 -- Sources
  • Women -- United States -- History -- 19th Century -- Sources

Primary Source Collections at QC