The American Studies program at QC takes an interdisciplinary approach to exploring the American experience. For more information about the program, see the American Studies website, and its program requirements. This guide provides a selection of resources to highlight American arts, literature, history, politics, and society. Given the interdisciplinary nature of American Studies, other Research Guides prepared by the Library’s subject specialists might prove helpful:
/ Africana Studies / Art / Music / Political Science / Sociology / U. S. Civil Rights History / U. S. Environmental History / U. S. Social & Women's History / U. S. Urban History / Urban Studies /
Subject encyclopedias and other reference guides can provide good background information on a topic. Many reference books are in printed format, while others are available in electronic resource collections such as:
American Decades Series by 
American Eras by 
American Ethnic Writers by 
American Folk Songs: A Regional Encyclopedia by 
American History through Literature, 1820-1870
American History through Literature, 1870-1920
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library by 
Dictionary of American History
Encyclopedia of American Religions by 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by 
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. History: Government and Politics
Grove Art features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images. The collection includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The concise dictionary of art terms.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
The Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film by 
Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals that cover fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as photography, film, and architecture with articles dating back to 1995.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
This database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Please sign to QC Library when prompted to browse articles within the Queens College Library collections.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
MLA International Bibliography Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Music Index database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; (1952-current).
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
American Decades Primary Soiurces by 
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection includes series 1-5 and provides more than 1,800 titles dating from 1838-1852. The themes reveal a rapidly growing young nation where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is an archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 19th Century (1851-2018).
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
