Education

Acclaimed as a text and professional development tool, this user-friendly resource has now been revised and updated, and offers expanded coverage of collaborative action research (CAR) and participatory action research (PAR).

The Handbook of Critical Theoretical Research Methods in Education approaches theory as a method for doing research, rather than as a background framework.

This accessible and practical book is a perfect quick guide for postgraduate researchers in education. Looking at the interdependence of teaching and research, the authors show that a critical and analytical exploration of policies and practices is a necessary part of what we mean by being a ′professional′ in education. Drawing on the authors′ substantial experience of teaching research skills at postgraduate level, as well as on their own experiences as active researchers, the book will guide you through: - discourse analysis - visual methods - textual research - data collection and analysis.

This book presents different data collection and representation techniques: elementary descriptive statistics, confirmatory statistics, multivariate approaches and statistical modeling. It exposes the possibility of giving more robustness to the classical methodologies of education sciences by adding a quantitative approach. The fundamentals of each approach and the reasons behind them are methodically analyzed, and both simple and advanced examples are given to demonstrate how to use them. Subsequently, this book can be used both as a course for the uninitiated and as an accompaniment for researchers who are already familiar with these concepts.

Takes students through the research process, from getting and developing a research idea, to designing and conducting a study, through analyzing and reporting data. The eleventh edition addresses the change in research practices to supplement or replace null hypothesis significance testing (NHST) with other analytic approaches, including Bayesian analysis.

In an era of curricular changes, experiments, and high-stakes testing, educational measurement and evaluation are more important than ever. In addition to expected entries covering the basics of traditional theories and methods, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation also covers important sociopolitical issues and trends influencing the future of that research and practice. Textbooks, handbooks, monographs, and other publications focus on various aspects of educational research, measurement, and evaluation, but to date, there exists no major reference guide for students new to the field. This comprehensive work fills that gap, covering traditional areas while pointing the way to future developments.

The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods provides students and researchers with the most comprehensive resource covering core methods, research designs, and data collection, management, and analysis issues.

This open access book provides a comprehensive and informative overview of the current state of research about student perceptions of and student feedback on teaching. After presentation of a new student feedback process model, evidence concerning the validity and reliability of student perceptions of teaching quality is discussed. This is followed by an overview of empirical research on the effects of student feedback on teachers and instruction in different contexts, as well as on factors promoting the successful implementation of feedback in schools. In summary, the findings emphasize that student perceptions of teaching quality can be a valid and reliable source of feedback for teachers.

In this open access edited volume, international researchers of the field describe and discuss the systematic review method in its application to research in education. Alongside fundamental methodical considerations, reflections and practice examples are included and provide an introduction and overview on systematic reviews in education research.

This accessible text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, term paper, or grant proposal. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is clearly explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, vignettes, and examples of student work.

Physical copy in Rosenthal Library.

Physical copy in Rosenthal Library.