Find Economics Databases from QC Library Website.
You can use OneSearch to find both print book and e-books.
For more information about our E-book collections please see our Guide to E-books
The best place to start your search for books is OneSearch, which can be accessed from the Queens College Libraries homepage. OneSearch searches across multiple library resources from one interface. It finds books, articles, digital content, and other resources -- but it works best at finding books.
Start by entering basic search terms in the search box, then select "Search." You'll be able to limit your results in the next step.
Tip: If you know what you're looking for, use the title or author as your search term.
Reference/Background Sources & Research Topics
Electronic/Online References & Print Reference Books
Some Reference books can help you get a quick start.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance by
The first reference work ever to be awarded the Eccles Prize for Excellence in Economic Writing from Columbia Business School. Continuing in the tradition of The New Palgrave, this 3-volume set provides an unparalleled guide to modern money, banking and finance. In over 1,000 substantial essays by leading academic and professional authorities, it provides the most comprehensive analysis available of contemporary theory and the fast-evolving global monetary and financial framework. In its scope and depth of coverage, it is indispensable for the academic and practitioner alike.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by
What were the economic roots of modern industrialism? Were labor unions ever effective in raising workers' living standards? Did high levels of taxation in the past normally lead to economic decline? These and similar questions profoundly inform a wide range of intertwined social issues whose complexity, scope, and depth become fully evident in the Encyclopedia. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, the Encyclopedia is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation. The articles, all written and signed by international contributors, include scholars from Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia. Covering economic history in all areas of the world and segments of ecnomies from prehistoric times to the present, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History is the ideal resource for students, economists, and general readers, offering a unique glimpse into this integral part of world history.
The Concise Encyclopedia of The Great Recession 2007-2012
A Dictionary of Economics by
This authoritative and comprehensive dictionary contains clear, concise definitions of approximately 3,500 key economic terms. Covering all aspects of economics including economic theory and policy, applied microeconomics and macroeconomics, labour economics, public economics and publicfinance, monetary economics, and environmental economics, this is the essential reference work in this area.The new edition of this dictionary has been updated to include entries on China, India, and South America, to reflect the increase in prominence of these regions in the global economy. There is strong coverage of international trade and many entries on economic organizations and institutions fromaround the world. Fully revised to keep up to date with this fast-moving field, this new edition expands the coverage to include entries such as austerity measures, General Anti Abuse Rule, propensity score matching, and shadow bank.Entries are supplemented by entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website, giving the reader the opportunity to explore further the areas covered in the dictionary. Useful appendices include a list of institutional acronyms and their affiliated websites, a listof Nobel prize-winners in economics, the Greek alphabet, and a list of relevant websites.As ideal for browsing as it is useful for quick reference, this dictionary remains an essential guide for students and teachers of economics, business, and finance, as well as for professional economists and anyone who has to deal with economic data.
Dictionary of Economics by
At last, a dictionary of economics you don't have to be an economist to understand! Balanced budget multiplier, gross national product deflator, Laffer curve, index of consumer confidence, Clintonomics...terms like these keep cropping up in the media with ever greater frequency. And, as often as not, when you look them up, you get explanations that only a professional economist could decipher. Now, the Dictionary of Economics makes the vocabulary of economics accessible to everyone. Written by lexicographers and financial experts Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel, it supplies you with everything you need to acquire a solid working knowledge of these and more than 2,200 other economics-related terms, including: * Clear, detailed, jargon-free definitions, written in plain English * All important new terms and slang as well as traditional economics terminology * Loads of examples and applications drawn from the worlds of business, finance, and politics * Clear, easy-to-read diagrams, charts, graphs, and illustrations that make it easy to understand even the most complex economics concepts * A practical real-world focus geared to the needs of businesspeople and concerned consumers--not economists An unfamiliar term such as balanced budget multiplier, Keynesian economics, or bond ratings crops up in a political speech, news item, or business discussion. Being the sort of person who thinks it important to stay on top of the ideas and events that shape your world, you: * Look it up in one of the many "popular" economics references now out on the market, where you quickly become lost in a maze of obscure technical jargon, abstract formulations, and other undefined terms. Some time later, you wearily close the book, knowing less than you did before you opened it. * Look it up in the Dictionary of Economics by Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel where you find detailed definitions, in plain English, complete with practical examples and applications, diagrams, charts, graphs, and everything else you need to acquire a working knowledge of more than 2,200 essential economics terms. Moments later, you close the book knowing for certain whether or not to be insulted the next time somebody calls you a diehard Keynesian, or how concerned you should be about a recent slump in the index of consumer confidence. Accessible, easy to use, and practical, the Dictionary of Economics is the first dictionary of its kind you don't need a degree in economics to use. Accomplished lexicographers and financial experts Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel define more than 2,200 essential economics terms clearly, simply, and with a minimum of technical jargon and economic theory. This dictionary is written especially for businesspeople and general readers who want to keep abreast of the latest economic trends. It's packed with practical examples and applications drawn from the worlds of business, finance, and politics, and it provides detailed definitions of all important new terms as well as traditional economics terminology and everyone's favorite, slang. Whether you're a small business owner, a manager working in a for-profit or not-for-profit organization, or simply someone who wants to know more about the economic trends that influence nearly every aspect of modern life, the Dictionary of Economics is a valuable resource you don't want to be without. Among the more than forty books Drs. Shim and Siegel have collaborated on are the Dictionary of Personal Finance and the Dictionary of Accounting Terms.
The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Modern Economics by 
The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics by
The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economicsis an up-to-date authoritative reference designed primarily for students of economics but invaluable also to students of business and other social sciences and ideal for anyone who wants a brief explanation of an economic concept or institution. In this fourth edition one entry in ten has been revised and one entry in twenty is new. Whereas the third edition increased the coverage of American institutions, this edition breaks new ground by including entries considered important from an Eastern European perspective. It also supplies comparative statistics on major economic variables for selected countries, describes the origins of widely used acronyms, adds an index, and includes bibliographic references at the end of featured entries. The dictionary addresses in a clear and concise way both the enduring questions of the field and the issues of the moment, such as economic change in Europe, the problems of pollution, or the prospects for greater freedom of trade. With close to 2,800 entries, it is comprehensive in its coverage of theory, national and international institutions, schools of thought, and important economists, including recent Nobel Prize winners. Compiled initially by an experienced team of economists at Aberdeen University in the United Kingdom, new authors have been recruited to provide international expertise, reflecting changes in the structure of the international economy. David W. Pearce is Professor of Political Economy at University College, London.
Routledge Dictionary of Economics by
The Routledge Dictionary of Economics, now in its third edition, provides the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. The book is perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields of essential. The dictionary has been updated to reflect the economic changes of the new Millennium including the emergence of experimental and behavioural economics, new political economy, the importance of institutions, globalization, environmental economics, financial crises and the economic emergence of China and India. It's an international dictionary that includes succinctly explained A to Z entries and definitive explanations of the key terms, accompanied by a short bibliography and comprising supplementary online definitions. In a world where the reader is met with a barrage of conflicting and competing information, this book continues to provide a definitive guide to economics.
A scholarly article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. It is written in the specialized language of a scholarly discipline (such as Sociology). It documents the resources the writer used by providing bibliographic citations such as footnotes, endnotes, and bibliography so a reader can check or repeat the research the scholar has completed.
A scholarly journal is edited by scholars, and any article published in the journal has usually been approved by the author's peers or by referees (other scholars expert in the subject who serve as editors or readers and critique the article before it is accepted for publication). This is why most scholarly journals are referred to as a Peer-Reviewed or Refereed journals. Use the following databases to search for journal articles on a topic. You can use other Databases depending what topic you are researching.
ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, maintains a data archive of social science data for supporting quantitative research. The data are available in a collection of files that include relevant documentation.
To download data, you will need to create a MyData account. For further help, please get in touch with me.
IMF eLibrary - Periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and datasets from the International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary.
UN Data - A central repository of demographic, economic, and social data from several of the UN's agencies and divisions. The repository contains over 60 million data points for all of the world's countries. Access data by keyword search via the search engine or use the data explorer to drill down by database and subject.
USA Trade Online - Provides current and cumulative U.S. export and import data on over 18,000 commodities worldwide. Annual data 1998 to date. You need to register on the site to create a free account before you can use it.
World Bank data - Provides international social and economic data for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 207 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators from 1960 to 2000, where data are available.
