This main Anthropology Research page provides an overview of resources that can be used to become familiar with the history, theory, and practice of Anthropology.
Specific guides are listed in the side menu for starting your library research or literature review in more specific areas of Anthropology, such as the main four fields of the discipline:
For remote login to the Library's electronic resources, see our instructions for Off-Campus Access.
Remember to talk about your project with your instructor in the Anthropology Department!
Here you can sample some resources that discuss what Anthropology is, its history and theories, and the kinds of careers and professions that Anthropologists and Archaeologists.work in. You can find more information by searching the other resources listed below.
Subject encyclopedias and other reference guides can provide good background information on a topic. Many reference books are in printed format, while others are available in electronic resource collections such as:
21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook by 
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology by 
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by 
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by 
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences by 
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (6 vols.) by 
An index to articles in journals taken by the Library and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. The collection has nearly 800 journals, published in more than 40 languages, are indexed on a continuing basis. Records cover 1957 to the present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) is internationally recognized in the field of cultural anthropology to promote understanding of cultural diversity and commonality in the past and present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Collection of scholarly journals with strong coverage for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, with additional content in the social sciences and humanities.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W.Wilson) covers the latest concepts, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Provides full-text, Peer-Reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion, and social work.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; (1952-current).
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Wiley Online Library is a collection of scholarly journals and e-books published by Wiley-Blackwell in science, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
What is a scholarly journal article?
A scholarly journal article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. It is written in the specialized language of a scholarly discipline (such as Philosophy). It documents the resources the writer used by providing bibliographic citations such as footnotes, endnotes, and bibliography so a reader can check or repeat the research the scholar has completed.
A scholarly journal is edited by scholars, and any article published in the journal has usually been approved by the author's peers or by referees (other scholars expert in the subject who serve as editors or readers and critique the article before it is accepted for publication). This is why most scholarly journals are referred to as a Peer-Reviewed or Refereed journals. Here is a comparison between popular and scholarly periodicals. There are usually several databases that can be used to search for journal articles on a topic.
