Research Guides: Big Ideas at Queens College: Big Idea: Sewage Holds Evidence of COVID-19

Big Idea: Monitor Present SARS Coronavirus in NYC Wastewater

John Dennehy is researching COVID-19 in NYC wastewater. By sequencing the genomes found in the wastewater, he and his team are learning more about how the virus is evolving.

General Science Full Text (H.W.Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text from more than 100 periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals in such fields as astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, and health & medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles. It includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Complete is the leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals with strong coverage for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, with additional content in the social sciences and humanities.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.

Environment Index
Environment Index is a bibliographic database for environmental studies and related disciplines, including agriculture, energy, public policy and environmental law. It provides millions of records from top environment journals and an environmental thesaurus.
Global Wastewater Database
The best available data on municipal wastewater production, collection, treatment, discharge and direct use for irrigation purposes is continuously collected and added to AQUASTAT, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) global water information system. This initiative, started by FAO, has the scientific and technical support of the International Water Management Institute, the CGIAR Research Program on Water, Land and Ecosystem's lead center.

BOOKS

Available at CUNY
Not Available at CUNY

United States. Federal Emergency Management Agency. “COVID-19 pandemic operational guidance for the 2020 hurricane season”. 2020 (Available at Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library Documents Level 1 (HS 5.108:C 81)

Culp, Gordon L., and others. “Physical-chemical wastewater treatment plant design” United States. Environmental Protection Agency. Office of Technology Transfer. 1974 (Available at Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library Documents Level

1 (EP 7.10:W 28/2)

United States. Environmental Protection Agency. Office of Wastewater Management. “Achieving environmental excellence : an environmental management systems (EMS) handbook for wastewater utilities”. Global Environment & Technology Foundation. 2004. (Available at Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library Documents Circulating CD-ROM Level 3 (EP 1.104:EN 8/4/CD)

Vernick, Arnold S.; Walker, Elwood C. “New and ultrathin membranes for municipal wastewater treatment by reverse osmosis.” North Star Research and Development Institute (Minneapolis, Minn.); United States. Environmental Protection Agency. Water Quality Office, 1970. (Available at Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library Stacks Level 5 (TD754 .N67)

“Handbook of wastewater treatment processes” 1981(Available at Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library Stacks Level 5 (TD745 .H2)

Dehghani, Mohammad Hadi. Environmental and Health Management of Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19). Academic Press, 2021
Frank, R. Spellman. Fundamentals of Wastewater-Based Epidemiology: Biomonitoring of Bacteria, Protozoa, COVID-19, and Other Viruses. CRC Press, 2021
Water Environmental Federation. Protecting Wastewater Professionals From Covid-19 and Other Biological Hazards. Water Environmental Federation, 2020

LEADING ARTICLES

COVID-19 Wastewater Testing
NYC Environmental Protection
Tracking COVID-19 with wastewater
Larsen, D.A., Wigginton, K.R. Tracking COVID-19 with wastewater. Nat Biotechnol 38, 1151–1153 (2020).
Staying Ahead of the Curve: Wastewater Surveillance for Monitoring COVID-19 Outbreaks in New York State
Short Communication from New York State Water Resources Institute
New York Is Scouring Its Sewers for COVID-19. Are We Learning Enough From What We Flush?
SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus in water and wastewater: A critical review about presence and concern
SARS-CoV-2 in wastewater: State of the knowledge and research needs
Published in Science of The Total Environment, Volume 739, 15 October 2020, 139076
Presence of SARS-Coronavirus-2 in sewage
Published in Environmental Science & Technology Letters doi: 10.1021/acs.estlett.0c00357
Status of environmental surveillance for SARS-CoV-2 virus
Studies Finding Remnants of SARS-CoV-2 in Sewage Suggest COVID-19 May Not Have Originated at Wuhan Market, Some Scientists Dispute the Findings
Aug 17, 2020 | International Laboratory News, Laboratory News, Laboratory Pathology

ORGANIZATIONS, ASSOCIATIONS & SOCIETIES

American Public Health Association (APHA)
APHA is the largest organization of public health professionals in the world and has been influencing policies and setting priorities in public health since 1872. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study and action.
American Water Resources Association
"A non-profit organization that advances the water resources management, research, and education skills of engineers, educators, foresters, biologists, ecologists, geographers, managers, regulators, hydrologists.
National Environmental Services Center (NESC)
NESC is a nonprofit organization providing technical assistance and information about drinking water, wastewater disposal, solid waste disposal, infrastructure security, utility management and environmental training to communities serving fewer than 10,000 people.
New York City. Department of Environment
Manages the city's water supply and works to reduce air, noise, and hazardous materials pollution.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA)
USEPA establishes national standards for protection of the environment. These standards are then generally enforced by state agencies. USEPA maintains a Safe Drinking Water Hotline to provide information on drinking water regulations and documents.
The Water Environment Federation
WEF is a nonprofit association that provides technical education and training for thousands of water quality professionals who clean water and return it safely to the environment. WEF members have proudly protected public health, served their local communities and supported clean water worldwide.
Water Environment Federation (WEF)
WEF is a nonprofit association that provides technical education and training for thousands of water quality professionals who clean water and return it safely to the environment. WEF members have proudly protected public health, served their local communities and supported clean water.
Water Quality Association (WQA)
WQA is the trade association that represents the sector of the water treatment industry devoted to treating water on the homeowner’s or business-owner’s property. WQA is a resource and information source, a voice for the industry, an educator of professionals, and laboratory for product testing.

COMPUTER FILES

Wastewater technologies and environmental treatment : proceedings of the ICWTET2020
World Environmental and Water Resources Congress 2020 Emerging and Innovative Technologies and International Perspectives

Comparison of Approaches to Quantify SARS-CoV-2 RNA in Wastewater : Canadian COVID-19 Wastewater Coalition, Waterloo, ON, CA: Canadian Water Network

STREAMING VIDEOS, UTUBES CLIPS, CD AND VHS TAPES

EPFL and Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology. "Covid-19: using wastewater to track the pandemic
YouTube Video
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). "Testing wastewater to help detect Covid-19".
Peccia, Jordan. "Monitoring Wastewater as an Early Indicator of COVID-19 Outbreak Dynamics"
Predicting COVID-19 outbreaks by measuring SARS-CoV-2 RNA in sewage sludge.

IMPORTANT WEB RESOURCES AND WEBSITES

CDC. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. National Wastewater Surveillance System (NWSS) A new public health tool to understand COVID-19 spread in a community
On-Demand WasteWater Library (OWWL)
The On-demand Wastewater Library is a library of peer-reviewed Operator Fact Sheets and is focused on providing (where applicable) science-based principles and best management practices to be applied at today’s water resource facilities and utilities of the future.

Big Ideas at Queens College

Subash Gandhi

Big Idea: Monitor Present SARS Coronavirus in NYC Wastewater

DATABASES

BOOKS

LEADING ARTICLES

ORGANIZATIONS, ASSOCIATIONS & SOCIETIES

COMPUTER FILES

STREAMING VIDEOS, UTUBES CLIPS, CD AND VHS TAPES

IMPORTANT WEB RESOURCES AND WEBSITES

CUNY ACADEMIC WORKS