Research Guides: Big Ideas at Queens College: Big Idea: Racial Disproportionality in Special Education

The Big Idea: Racial Disproportionality in Special Education

In New York City schools, there are huge racial disparities in special education placement. Watch the video to learn more.

More about Professor Gibson and his research

Background Information

Defining Disproportionality
Research from the National Center for Learning Disabilities
What's an IEP?
Information from the U.S. Department of Education

Databases

These databases are great places to explore racial disproportionality and other topics in education research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources. It is a good starting point for research in all areas of study.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Users are advised to sign-in or sign-up for an account using their Queens College email address.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is the largest education database in the world — containing over one million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum, and teaching guides, conference papers, and books.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
LearnTechLib | The Learning and Technology Library This link opens in a new window
LearnTechLib is the premier online resource for aggregated, peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology by the world's leading publications and authors.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 Peer-Reviewed journals.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.

Books: Print and Electronic

African American Students in Urban Schools by James L. Moore III (Editor); Chance W. Lewis (Editor)
ISBN: 9781433106866
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
African American Students in Urban Schools offers readers a critical yet comprehensive examination of the issues affecting African American students' outcomes in urban school systems and beyond. Across disciplines including teacher education, school counseling, school psychology, gifted education, career and technical education, higher education, and more, chapters use theoretical and conceptual analysis and research-based evidence to examine the unique challenges facing urban African American students and illustrate what can be done to help. This book will enable readers to better understand many of the complex and multifaceted dilemmas faced by today's urban school systems and will motivate readers to make a commitment to improve urban schools for the betterment of African American students.
Cultural Diversity and the Schools by James Lynch (Editor); Celia Modgil (Editor); Sohan Modgil (Editor)
ISBN: 9781850009894
Publication Date: 1992-09-01
First published in 1992.
Educating Hispanic and Latino Students by Jaime A. Castellano
ISBN: 9781943920211
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
As Hispanic and Latino students now represent the largest ethnic group educated in the United States public school system, there¿s no denying that successfully educating Hispanic and Latino students is of primary importance to the future of the United States.Under this critical context, Jaime Castellano¿s Educating Hispanic/Latino Students: Opening Doors to Hope, Promise, and Possibility arrives at the perfect moment to help educators better understand the Hispanic and Latino student demographic, and more importantly, uncover the strategies and implementation practices to better educate this burgeoning population.
Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural School Psychology by Caroline S. Clauss-Ehlers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387717999
Publication Date: 2009-12-08
With contributions from leading school psychology practitioners, this encyclopedia provides a one-of-a-kind guide to cross-cultural school psychology. Some 400 entries explore concepts, themes, and the latest research findings to answer your questions in all aspects of the field. Moreover, the encyclopedia offers support at all levels of primary and secondary education, from pre-K to 12th grade. Each entry offers a description of a particular term, a bibliography, and additional readings. The editor is widely known for her bi-weekly Spanish-language columns and her appearances on television and radio as a cross-cultural expert.
Handbook of Response to Intervention by Shane R. Jimerson (Editor); Matthew K. Burns (Editor); Amanda M. VanDerHeyden (Editor)
ISBN: 9780387490533
Publication Date: 2007-08-14
Until now, practitioners have had access to few detailed descriptions of RTI methods and the effective role they can play in special education. The Handbook of Response to Intervention fills this critical information gap. In this comprehensive volume, more than 90 expert scholars and practitioners provide a guide to the essentials of RTI assessment and identification as well as research-based interventions for improving students' reading, writing, oral, and math skills.

Attribution

This guide was originally created by Jeremy Czerw in 2020.