Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil Rights: The Queens College Student Help Project

The college has a number of outlets for accessing collections related to the Student Help Project, both physical and digital. They include oral history interviews hosted on Aviary; paper collections donated by alumni in the 2000’s; the college’s page on the JSTOR Community Collections, an open access resource that has digitized photographs, yearbooks, and other materials; finding aids for all collections that include further details about the archival materials; secondary sources available to CUNY students and faculty on OneSearch, the online CUNY library catalog.

ORAL HISTORIES

Interviews are hosted on the Queens Memory Aviary site with corresponding records in QC ArchivesSpace. Browse through the full list of interviews with short summaries about each file in the "Oral Histories" tab. 

 

PAPER COLLECTIONS & FINDING AIDS

Discover records about additional collections donated by QC Student Help Project alumni at https://qcarchives.libraryhost.com/repositories/2/classifications/8/. Information about physical collections for on-site research are provided in the "Paper Collections" tab.

 

DIGITIZED MATERIALS

The college's JSTOR Open Community Collections site hosts a number of digitized materials, including documents, photographs, and yearbooks. Selected images based on topics mentioned in the interviews can be viewed in the "Digitized Materials" tab. 

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY & RESOURCES

Preview a curated selection of materials from the CUNY Libraries OneSearch catalog, in addition to existing collections at other organizations and universities, and educational materials on the Moton Museum website. 

 

Use the tabs under “Explore the Collections” in the navigation panel to access the different resources listed above.