Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 110

An introduction to library resources and research strategies for English 110

About This Guide

Welcome to the library! In this research guide, you will be introduced to some research fundamentals, and you will have the opportunity to complete several short exercises to help you develop a draft research question and begin generating key terms for searching library resources. This guide covers much of the same material available in the interactive Library Research Workbook, but it also includes more detailed information about the library databases and search tools you are most likely to use in English 110.

This guide, like the Library Research Workbook, is intended to help you:

  • Identify an information need
    • Understand the relationship between a research topic, a research question, and a research strategy
  • Know the scope of available resources
    • Understand the difference between library databases, Google, and Wikipedia
    • Recognize the purpose of a variety of resources and what research needs they answer
    • Recognize the difference between scholarly and popular sources
  • Develop effective research strategies
    • Select appropriate research tools and resources
    • Generate and refine effective keyword searches
    • Use search results to broaden or narrow a research topic
  • Find sources
    • Use library databases and OneSearch
  • Evaluate sources
    • Apply the CRAAP test
    • Understand the importance of peer review

Overview of the Library Website

  • Select the Research tab in the top menu to find scholarly articles in library databases, to consult research guides, or to get help from a reference services librarian
  • Search across multiple library resources by entering search terms or a title in the OneSearch search bar and selecting Search
  • Get answers to common library questions in the Library FAQs
  • Use the chat widget in the lower right-hand corner to connect with a librarian 24/7
  • Select Advanced Search to refine your search
  • Select the About tab in the top menu to find maps of the libraries or get contact information for library faculty & staff

Remote Access

All Queens College students, staff, and faculty can access to the libraries’ electronic resources off-campus. To use databases and electronic resources while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College when prompted.

Please note that the library has updated its catalogue and as such barcodes are no longer supported. However, if you are unable to login as suggested below, please complete the form:https://qc-cuny.libwizard.com/f/ElectronicResources_Access_Form and include your barcode number. We will work to resolve the issue.

In order to access library databases, resources, and your account, you may log in with your CUNY Login Credentials. Your CUNY Login credentials follow the pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.

When you select a resource from the A-Z Database Page or One Search, you will first see the following page:

Please select Student/Faculty and Staff. From there you will see this page which will prompt you to login with your CUNY Credentials:

If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page: https://managelogin.cuny.edu/OIMSelfService/

For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please visit this page: https://www.cuny.edu/about/administration/offices/cis/cuny-login-faq/

If you are unable to use your CUNY Credentials and/or have any questions, please contact us via one of the listed options: