It's important for any research to evaluate information sources and learn the difference among different types of articles, such as Academic/Scholarly, Popular, and Trade journal articles. In general, scholarly peer reviewed journal articles are high quality information sources for research.
A scholarly article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. It is written in the specialized language of a scholarly discipline. It documents the resources the writer used by providing bibliographic citations such as footnotes, endnotes, and bibliography so a reader can check or repeat the research the scholar has completed.
Scholarly journals - contain articles edited by scholars, and any article published in the journal has usually been approved by the author's peers or by referees (other scholars expert in the subject who serve as editors or readers and critique the article before it is accepted for publication). This is why most scholarly journals are referred to as a Peer-Reviewed or Refereed journals. Use the library databases to search for journal articles on a topic. You can use other Databases depending what topic you are researching.
Popular magazines - contain articles and are typically written by a staff writer or journalist for a general audience. The magazine includes many photos and ads. Reference to sources are uncommon.
Trade publications - contain articles on current news and trends for a specific industry or profession and are written by authors with knowledge in the field for practitioners. Articles report general news, trends, and opinions, rather than advanced research, and are not peer-reviewed.
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
Note: Use your Queens College email to create an account.
Find more E-Journals
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Please sign to QC Library when prompted to browse articles within the Queens College Library collections.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
