Italian Languages & Literature

This guide is meant to serve as a starting point for doing research on Italian cinema at the QC Rosenthal Library.  Due to the wealth of information on film in general, this is only intended to highlight some of the main resources for finding information.

REFERENCE

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are useful for getting started on a research topic and for uncovering basic information.   Reference books can be found on LEVEL 3, browsing call numbers:

Ref PN1993-PN1999 (the call number area for Motion Pictures).

Ex.: Dizionario del cinema italiano : dagli inizi del secolo a oggi i film che hanno segnato la storia del nostro cinema by Fernando Di Giammatteo. Rome, 1995. Ref. Level 3 PN1993.5 I88 D5 1995

OneSearch

Lists our library holdings of books, e-books, journals and media (dvds, vhs).  

SUBJECT HEADINGS

Useful headings to search under that pertain to cinema and Italian cinema include

• Foreign films--Italy
• Italy—in motion pictures
• Motion pictures—Italy

This is just a start.  Other subject headings will appear below these in record results that might be more useful.

A SAMPLE OF BOOKS ON ITALIAN CINEMA

Bondanella, Peter E., 1943- A History of Italian Cinema / Peter Bondanella. New York: Continuum
     International Pub. Group, 2009. PN1993.5 .I88.B5655 2009

Brunetta, Gian Piero. The History of Italian Cinema: a Guide to Italian Film from its Origins to

    the Twenty-First Century / Gian Piero Brunetta ; translated by Jeremy Parzen. Princeton: Princeton

    University Press, c2009. Queens Reserve Circ. Level 3 PN1993.5 .I88 B69313 2009 Reserve Loan

Celli, Carlo, 1963- A New Guide to Italian Cinema [electronic resource] / Carlo Celli and Marga
   Cottino-Jones. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. EBook

Sorlin, Pierre, Italian National Cinema, 1896-1996. Florence, KY: Routledge, 1996.  EBook

For additional eBooks on cinema, see the database, ebrary

Then do a search for Italian cinema or name of individual director, actor, etc.

PERIODICAL DATABASES

FILM & TELEVISION LITERATURE INDEX Citations and links to scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, trade publication articles

COMMUNICATIONS & MASS MEDIA COMPLETE (Ebsco) comprehensive coverage on communications and mass media from 600 journals

These databases and others can be found on the Queens College Databases page. You can use the drop-down menu to sort for only film related databases.

IMAGE DATABASES

ARTstor

Searchable, digital library of nearly one million images, including film images.