A database is an organized, online collection of information. The most common type of database includes primarily scholarly articles, but they can also include magazine and newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, images from art collections, digitized historical documents, library catalogs, statistical information, or almost anything.
In many databases, the articles are organized by subject; in such cases, you will see clickable subject terms that you can use to find more on that topic. Many databases also make it possible to search by other characteristics of an article. You may be able to look for articles that have been published after a certain date, peer-reviewed articles, or articles of a particular type.
Although databases allow you to search for information online, they are different from search engines because they include the information that you will find, not just the search box. Because of this, you will have different search results from one database to another, and most of them wouldn't be available from the open Web.
Some databases provide information only in certain, specific fields. Other databases, like JSTOR or Academic Search Complete, include information on a variety of subjects.
In the list below, you will find databases selected by librarians for their relevance to research in the field of Communication Disorders. These databases help you research more effectively and efficiently because they specialize in resources that are most likely to be relevant to your search.
Use online databases or periodical indexes to select journal articles you want to read. A journal article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. Sometimes, searching one database is not enough. Search multiple databases to obtain the most comprehensive information.
You can find bibliographic citations to books and journal articles, as well as full text of some documents.The databases listed below are available for Queens College faculty and students through the library subscriptions and could be found on the QC Libraries Home page.
CINAHL Database provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences (1973-current). The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Please sign to QC Library when prompted to browse articles within the Queens College Library collections.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database of scholarly journals, magazines, and news sources. It is a good starting point for research in all areas of study.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Collection of scholarly journals covering business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
Collection of scholarly journals with strong coverage for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, with additional content in the social sciences and humanities.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
MEDLINE Complete is the leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, and medical law.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
A robust database that provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
All Queens College students, staff, and faculty can access the librarys’ electronic resources off-campus. To use databases while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College when prompted.
Please note that the library has updated its catalogue and as such barcodes are no longer supported. However, if you are unable to login as suggested below, please complete the form and include your barcode number. We will work to resolve the issue.
In order to access library databases, resources, and your account, you may log in with your CUNY Login Credentials. Your CUNY Login credentials follow the pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.
When you select a resource from the A-Z Database Page or One Search, you will first see the following page:
Please select Student/Faculty and Staff. From there you will see this page which will prompt you to login with your CUNY Credentials:
If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page.
For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please review the FAQ.
If you are unable to use your CUNY Credentials and/or have any questions, please contact us via one of the listed options:
To access articles in CINAHL (and most QC library databases), click the "Find It! @ CUNY" button below the item description or in the left-hand menu on the item detail page.
Sometimes the "Find It!" button will link directly to the article. Other times, It will link to a page in OneSearch (CUNY's catalog); on that page you will either find one or more links to the article text in other databases, or, if the QC library doesn't have direct access to the article, a link to request the article via Interlibrary Loan.
Sometimes there will be a PDF icon instead of the "Find It!" button -- that will link directly to the article.
PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Unfortunately, this can be confusing, because publisher websites don't always connect to the QC library databases, and some even indicate that you should pay for access!! As a Queens College student, you never need to pay to access articles.
If you find an article in PubMed, but the link in PubMed goes to a publisher website rather than to the full text, I recommend searching on the title in CINAHL, in OneSearch, or in Google Scholar. (I always have multiple databases open simultaneously when I'm researching!)
When you're on campus or accessing Google Scholar through the Queens College databases, Google Scholar will provide links to articles that are available from the Queens College library.
