Research Guides: Biology Research Guide: Databases (Find Articles)

List of Databases

Use online databases or periodical indexes to select journal articles you want to read. You can find bibliographic citations to books and journal articles, as well as full text of some documents.The databases listed below are available for Queens College faculty, staff and students through the library subscriptions and could be found on the QC Libraries Home page: https://library.qc.cuny.edu/.

A journal article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. Sometimes, searching one database is not enough. Search multiple databases to obtain the most comprehensive information.

NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) The NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA) provides citations to agricultural literature.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science. This collection of critical reviews of primary research literature is written by leading scientists. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window Birds of the World brings together deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology with millions of bird observations from eBird and multimedia from the Macaulay Library into a single platform where biologists and birders can explore comprehensive life history information on birds. Catalogue Link: OneSearch 
Birds of the World will be down on Tuesday, March 19th and Thursday, March 21st for upgrades to the site. For additional details, please visit, BOW's website.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window Access encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. 
General Science Full Text (H.W.Wilson) This link opens in a new window Provides full text from more than 100 periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals in such fields as astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, and health & medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology. Catalogue Link: OneSearch
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals and e-books that include primary sources, images, and more. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
JSTOR provided expanded access during the pandemic (June 2020-June 2023). Expanded access expires on June 30, 2023. CUNY will reinstate that access beginning in January 2024.You may review the Electronic Resources Status Dashboard for updates. Questions? Email: access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a Ticket!
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window MEDLINE Complete is the leading full-text database of biomedical and health journals. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
Nature Journals This link opens in a new window Access to multidisciplinary Nature journals which cover topics including genetics, evolution, biotechnology, and clinical practice & research. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
PLOS | Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window Collection of Peer-Reviewed, open-access scientific and medical journals; includes original research as well as timely feature articles. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
If you use PubMed often, you may do the following to ensure you see the Find It @ CUNY button:
• Sign up for an NCBI account and select Queens College, CUNY as one of your schools
• Bookmark the following: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=nyqucolib
o Once you access PubMed via the following link you will automatically view the FIND IT @ CUNY button.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Collection of scholarly journals with strong coverage for the life and physical sciences, medicine, and technical fields, with additional content in the social sciences and humanities. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
- First-time users must create a SciFinder username. Users who are not on campus should create an account via this Off-Campus Registration link. Users who are on campus may use the On-Campus Registration link.
- CAS has a new platform and includes access to SciFinder-n, CAS Analytical Methods and CAS Formulus
Springer Link This link opens in a new window Collection of journals and e-books, with a strong emphasis on STEM (science, technology, engineering, medicine) content. Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library is a collection of scholarly journals and e-books published by Wiley-Blackwell in science, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.Catalogue Link: OneSearch

Accessing the Databases Off Campus

All QC students, staff, and faculty can access to the libraries' electronic resources off-campus. To use databases and electronic resources while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College by entering an active QCard library barcode number when prompted.

To activate your Library barcode you must visit the Borrowing Desk in person at the Rosenthal Library (level 3).If you have ever checked out a book you have already completed this step.

If you are "off campus", log-in via the "Connect from Home" link listed under Research >Connect from Home on QC Libraries Home Page: http://library.qc.cuny.edu/services/offcampus.php.