Research Guides: Classics Guide: Databases(Articles)

Introduction

A journal article is written by a scholar or an expert, and provides a detailed analysis of a topic. It is written in the specialized language of a scholarly discipline (such as Sociology). It documents the resources the writer used by providing bibliographic citations such as footnotes, endnotes, and bibliography so a reader can check or repeat the research the scholar has completed.

A scholarly journal is edited by scholars, and any article published in the journal has usually been approved by the author's peers or by referees (other scholars expert in the subject who serve as editors or readers and critique the article before it is accepted for publication). This is why most scholarly journals are referred to as a Peer-Reviewed or Refereed journals. Use the following databases to search for journal articles on a topic. You can use other Databases depending what topic you are researching.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available including analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
Users may experience linking issues. We are working with the vendor to resolve this as soon as possible. Should you have any questions, please email us at access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a ticket.
ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window
Online collection of over 5,400 books in the humanities and related social sciences.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.

Acta Classica
Bryn Mawr Classical Review Open Access peer reviewed reviews on current scholarly work in classical studies
Classical Studies Journals in JSTOR A list of Classical Studies journals in the JSTO database
Classical World Classical World publishes substantive scholarship on Greek and Roman literature, history, and society as well as the classical tradition and the history of classical scholarship.
Greek, Roman and Byzantine Studies "Peer-reviewed quarterly journal devoted to the culture and history of Greece from Antiquity to the Renaissance, featuring research on all aspects of the Hellenic world from prehistoric antiquity through the Greek, Roman, and Byzantine periods, including studies of modern classical scholarship."
Journal of Hellenic Studies The Journal of Hellenic Studies (JHS) is recognised internationally as one of the foremost periodicals in the field of classical scholarship. It contains articles on a wide variety of Hellenic topics including Greek language, literature, history and art and archaeology in the Ancient, Byzantine and Modern periods, as well as reviews of recent books of importance to Greek studies.
Journal of Roman Studies
Ramus Critical Studies in Greek and Roman Literature