Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian Studies Guide

Introduction

In addition to using the resources listed on the Research page for Asian Studies, the resources below will also have scholarly information specific to the research themes of your course.

Research Process

Finding articles

Finding facts and data

Identifying & evaluating sources

Citing references  

    Citation Style Manual Guide

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries (Reference Books)

Scholarly Journal Articles (Search Databases)

Other Resources

Anthropology Database of American Museum of Natural History 

Over 250,000 ethnographic and archaeological objects representing the peoples of the Americas, Africa, Asia, Europe and the Pacific Islands have been digitally imaged and are accessible online. Generous support for creating digital images of artifacts, archival documents, and photographs has been provided by the National Endowment for the HumanitiesNew York State Council on the Arts, and The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Himalayan art of The Rubin Museum of Art

The Museum's preeminent collection of Himalayan art includes over 3,800 objects spanning more than 1,500 years to the present day. Included are works of art of great quality and depth from the Tibetan plateau, with examples from related surrounding regions including Nepal, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, China and Mongolia.

Metropolitan Museum of Art

Through the combined efforts of generations of curators, researchers, and collectors, Met's collection has grown to represent more than 5,000 years of art from across the globe—from the first cities of the ancient world to the works of our time.

The British Museum

The Museum’s collection online offers everyone unparalleled access to objects in the collection. This innovative database is one of the earliest and most extensive online museum search platforms in the world.

Himalayan Art Resources

asianart.com

The on-line journal for the study and exhibition of the arts of Asia.

Material Religions: Exploring the material basis of religious traditions