Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asian American Literature

Scope of this Guide

This guide covers search strategies for Asian American Literature specifically. It will help you identify relevant databases and subject terms within that area.

If you'd like more tips on literature research in general, please see:

Library Status

During the Spring 2021 semester, the library building will be open on a limited basis by appointment only. The book collection will not be open for browsing, but see below for a way to request book chapters and print books from the library.

Here are some links you may find helpful:

Searching for Articles

Your search for articles may include both literary criticism and historical analysis. Because they are kept in different databases, they are addressed separately below.

Literature & Humanities Databases

The literature-specific databases are a good place to start.  They focus on analyzing literary works and you are likely to find yourself in conversation with them.

Even if you need historical documents or analysis, it's a good idea to start with the literary criticism, because you will often find such sources cited there.  

History and Asian American Studies Databases

Although none of these databases focuses specifically on Asian American studies or Asian American history, they all include information about it.  

Some Specific Journals

I generally recommend searching databases for articles, as specific journals are usually quite narrow in scope. However, it can be useful to browse through a journal to see what sorts of articles they include. 

Here are some journals that are strong in Asian American literature. Note that many of these are included in JSTOR.

Also see the American Literature E-Journals list.