Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SEEK History Project

Overview

The SEEK History Project documents the rich history of the Queens College Percy Ellis Sutton SEEK Program. The project was initiated in 2019 by the Special Collections and Archives Department of the Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library in partnership with the SEEK Program and Queens Memory (a local history project supported by the Queens Public Library and Queens College).

Documentation was gathered through oral history interviews, records processing, and public programming, with a focus on the SEEK rebellion of 1968/1969 as well as subsequent joys and challenges experienced by faculty, staff, and students of the program over its 55 year existence. The project was led by Annie Tummino (Head of Special Collections and Archives) and Obden Mondesir (Adjunct Outreach Archivist).

The project has resulted in 19 new oral histories conducted; 18 boxes of archival materials collated and (almost fully) processed; a full-year paid internship over the 2019-2020 academic year jointly funded by the library and SEEK; and several public events which explored and celebrated the history and current contributions of the SEEK program.

This guide will be updated as more resources become accessible and as the project progresses.

Contact / More Information

Queens College SEEK Program: https://qcseek.info/ 

Benjamin S. Rosenthal Library: https://library.qc.cuny.edu/

Department of Special Collections and Archives: https://library.qc.cuny.edu/archives/

Queens Memory Project: https://queensmemory.org/

Annie Tummino, Head of Special Collections and Archives: annie.tummino@qc.cuny.edu