Research Guides: Data Services: Data Sources

Finding Data and Data Citation

Find data from QC library databases and other resources.

Data Repositories

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) maintains the world's largest political and social research data.
Infoshare Online This link opens in a new window
Provides an array of community and regional data from neighborhoods and other local areas of New York City and New York State; includes population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local trade data, and more, with data from 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010 census, and other sources.
New data is not added to the system. It is relatively inactive.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides current and historical demographic data from the United States federal census (1790-2010), the American Community Survey (2005-2011), and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study (1980-2010. Users can create reports, charts, interactive maps and slide shows to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
To use Social Explorer remotely, save, and share projects, please create a personal account.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

American FactFinder
Population data based on the US Census.
Data.census.gov

Data.census.gov provides access to data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau.

CUNY ACADEMIC WORKS

CUNY Academic Works provides access to the research, scholarship, and creative and pedagogical work of the City University of New York.

FedStats

Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government.

Statistical Resources on the Web

The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides this list of statistical government documents both in the United States and elsewhere.

Open Datasets

Public-Use Data Files and Documentation (PEQIS 16): Distance Education at Postsecondary Institutions, 2006-07

Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.

Statistical Abstract of the United States: Contents
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.

NYC Data

Please see Demographic Data - New York guide for more NYC census/population/demographic data.

Research Data Journals/Sources

Data in Brief

Policies and Guidelines
Data in Brief FAQ
Answering your questions about Data in Brief.
Public repositories to store and find data
All data described in an article submitted to Data in Brief must be made publicly available. Find out more.

More Data Sources

DATA.GOV

The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Data & Statistics

FRED Economic Data

HealthData.gov

More Open Data