Research Guides: Italian American Studies guide: Databases

Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
A newspaper index devoted to ethnic communities and their native press. Included among the Italian American periodical offerings are: Ambassador (Washington DC): Italian America; The Italian Voice, and NIAF (National Italian American Foundation) News.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from English language journals in the arts and humanities. Important for the cultural and ethnic studies journals it indexes, including Journal of American Culture; Journal of American Ethnic History, and Journal of American Folklore.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly journals and e-books that include primary sources, images, and more.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
JSTOR provided expanded access during the pandemic (June 2020-June 2023). Expanded access expires on June 30, 2023. CUNY will reinstate that access beginning in January 2024.You may review the Electronic Resources Status Dashboard for updates. Questions? Email: access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a Ticket!
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals and e-books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; (1952-current).
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.