Research Guides: Medieval Literature Research Guide: Databases

Database Searching

You'll be searching the databases for mostly articles. Many of the caveats from searching for books apply here, too.

I have included in this list both general literature databases and specific resources for medieval literature.

Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive and well-indexed literature database. You can search by the title or author of the work of interest. However, you will need to use FindIt to see whether we have the full text of articles you find.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
An index to journal articles and book reviews concerning women, gender and sexuality from 450 to 1500.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source covers the humanities broadly, including both literary and some historical materials.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes a series entitled Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism. Like other series in this collection, it collects excerpts of some of the most important criticism on authors, works and genres. Helpful for getting a general overview of what's been said on a topic.
Users may experience linking issues. We are working with the vendor to resolve this as soon as possible. Should you have any questions, please email us at access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a ticket.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archives of journals in all disciplines, including medieval studies. The strength of JSTOR is full-text searching; its weaknesses are the lack of indexing and the exclusion of the most recent work.
JSTOR provided expanded access during the pandemic (June 2020-June 2023). Expanded access expires on June 30, 2023. CUNY will reinstate that access beginning in January 2024.You may review the Electronic Resources Status Dashboard for updates. Questions? Email: access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a Ticket!

Old English Newsletter Bibliography Database
Allows you to search the bibliography of the OEN Bibliography from 1973 to 2005. Free registration required.

OED | Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The premier dictionary of the English language, the OED is especially useful for its extensive etymologies and examples of early usage of words.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly journals and e-books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch

REED (Records of Early English Drama)
A rather specialized resource, the REED database provides data about appearances by professional performance troupes. You can search by venue, patron or troupe. Maps are also available. More information is available in the print Records of Early English Drama (Stacks, distributed among PN 2596).

E-Journals

These journals specialize in medieval studies or some aspect thereof. You can browse them to get an idea of what people are talking about in the field. If you need to find articles on a particular topic, however, you are probably better off using a database.

Anglo-Saxon England
Notable especially for its yearly bibliography detailing the year's work in Old English Studies.

Bulletin bibliographique de la Societe internationale arthurienne/Bibliographical bulletin of the International Arthurian Society
Call Number: Reference Level 3 - Z8045 .I5