Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art Research

The Godwin-Ternbach Museum

The Godwin-Ternbach Museum is located in Klapper Hall at Queens College. Founded in 1981 the museum holds the only comprehensive collection of art and artifacts in the borough, housing nearly 6,000 works that date from ancient to modern times, which represent global cultures from Africa, Asia, Latin America, Europe and North America.

The museum organizes cultural exhibitions and programs of contemporary and historical significance for the diverse audiences of Queens and the metropolitan region—students, faculty and public alike. 

Queens College Art Center

The Queens College Art Center strives to serve as a resource for CUNY-generated initiatives, both in and outside of the classroom, to offer emerging artists a space to experiment and grow, and to foster interdisciplinary partnerships founded in the arts—all with a spirit of openness and inclusivity. The Art Center presents 3-5 free and public exhibitions per year, in partnership with the Kupferberg Center.

The Queens College Art Center is a successor of the Klapper Library Art Center that was based in the Queens College Art Library’s gallery founded in 1960. With more than 200 exhibitions to date, it has shown masters like Alice Neel, Joseph Cornell, Elizabeth Catlett, and Henry Chalfant and introduced scores of artists from around the globe along with emerging artists who later went on to major careers.

Queens College Fashion and Textiles Collection

The Queens College Fashion and Textiles Collection contains over 2,000 dress and textile items, from 19th century day dresses to couture evening wear from the 21st century. The archive features works by designers including Adolfo, Bill Blass, Chanel, Oscar de la Renta, Perry Ellis, Galanos, Givenchy, Halston, Hattie Carnegie, Yves Saint Laurent, Valentino, Balmain, and Ungaro. It holds accessories including shoes, hats, bags, parasols, bonnets and fans, and a variety of undergarments including 19th century corsets, drawers, and cage crinolines. Additionally, it contains a group of Bedouin robes, Japanese kimono, Chinese and Korean ceremonial robes, and men’s military uniforms. 

The Fashion and Textiles Collection is a vital teaching and learning tool for the students on the college campus, offering a unique hands-on experience working with a historic fashion archive as they relate to collections management to research, curating, and exhibition practices.