The QC Writing Center offers Queens College undergraduate and graduate students free writing assistance—access this valuable writing resource by contacting the Kiely Hall office at qc.writing.center@qc.cuny.edu or 718-997-5676.
Creative Writing and Art History by 
Principles of Art History Writing by 
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by 
Visual Literacy: Writing About Art by 
Artists on Art by
Excerpts from the writings of painters and sculptors over a period of seven centuries present a highly personal and authentic history of art.
The Art of Art History: a Critical Anthology by
The history of art has been written and rewritten since classical antiquity. Since the foundation of the modern discipline of art history in Germany in the late eighteenth century, debates about art and its histories have intensified. Historians, philosophers, psychologists, and anthropologists among others have changed our notions of what art history has been, is, and might be. The Art of Art History is a unique guide to understanding art history through a critical reading of the field's most innovative and influential texts over the past two centuries. Each section focuses on a key issue: aesthetics, style, history as an art, iconography and semiology, gender, modernity and postmodernity, deconstruction and museology. More than thirty readings from writers as diverse as Winckelmann, Kant, Gombrich, Warburg, Panofsky, Heidegger, Lisa Tickner, Meyer Schapiro, Jacques Derrida, Mary Kelly, Michel Foucault, Rosalind Krauss, Louis Marin, Margaret Iversen, and Nestor Canclini are brought together, and Donald Preziosi's introductions to each topic provide background information, bibliographies, and critical elucidations of the issues at stake. His own concluding essay is an important and original contribution to scholarship in the field.
Critical Terms for Art History, Second Edition by
"Art" has always been contested terrain, whether the object in question is a medieval tapestry or Duchamp's Fountain. But questions about the categories of "art" and "art history" acquired increased urgency during the 1970s, when new developments in critical theory and other intellectual projects dramatically transformed the discipline. The first edition of Critical Terms for Art History both mapped and contributed to those transformations, offering a spirited reassessment of the field's methods and terminology. Art history as a field has kept pace with debates over globalization and other social and political issues in recent years, making a second edition of this book not just timely, but crucial. Like its predecessor, this new edition consists of essays that cover a wide variety of "loaded" terms in the history of art, from sign to meaning, ritual to commodity. Each essay explains and comments on a single term, discussing the issues the term raises and putting the term into practice as an interpretive framework for a specific work of art. For example, Richard Shiff discusses "Originality" in Vija Celmins's To Fix the Image in Memory, a work made of eleven pairs of stones, each consisting of one "original" stone and one painted bronze replica. In addition to the twenty-two original essays, this edition includes nine new ones--performance, style, memory/monument, body, beauty, ugliness, identity, visual culture/visual studies, and social history of art--as well as new introductory material. All help expand the book's scope while retaining its central goal of stimulating discussion of theoretical issues in art history and making that discussion accessible to both beginning students and senior scholars. Contributors: Mark Antliff, Nina Athanassoglou-Kallmyer, Stephen Bann, Homi K. Bhabha, Suzanne Preston Blier, Michael Camille, David Carrier, Craig Clunas, Whitney Davis, Jas Elsner, Ivan Gaskell, Ann Gibson, Charles Harrison, James D. Herbert, Amelia Jones, Wolfgang Kemp, Joseph Leo Koerner, Patricia Leighten, Paul Mattick Jr., Richard Meyer, W. J. T. Mitchell, Robert S. Nelson, Margaret Olin, William Pietz, Alex Potts, Donald Preziosi, Lisbet Rausing, Richard Shiff, Terry Smith, Kristine Stiles, David Summers, Paul Wood, James E. Young
Gardner's Art Through the Ages by
GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES: A GLOBAL HISTORY provides you with a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the 15th edition of the most widely read art history book in the English language continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms -- all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity. A complete online learning environment, including all images and an eBook, also is available. The unique Scale feature will help you better visualize the actual size of the artworks shown in the book. "The Big Picture" overviews at the end of every chapter summarize the chapter's important concepts.
The Guerrilla Girls' Bedside Companion to the History of Western Art by
THE GUERILLA GIRLS' BEDSIDE COMPANION TO THE HISTORY OF WESTERN ART
Janson's Basic History of Western Art by
A concise introduction to the Western tradition in art. Janson's Basic History of Art provides readers with a beautifully illustrated and masterfully concise introduction to the Western tradition of art history. The text centers discussions around the object, its manufacture, and its visual character. It considers the contribution of the artist as an important part of the analysis. This edition creates a narrative of how art has changed over time in the cultures that Europe has claimed as its patrimony and that Americans have claimed through their connection to Europe. Janson's Basic History of Western Art continues to maintain separate chapters on the Northern European Renaissance, the Italian Renaissance, and the High Renaissance, with stylistic divisions for key periods of the modern era. The 9th edition brings some exciting changes. For the first time, Janson's Basic History of Western Art comes with MyArtsLab, which provides students with an interactive learning experience. Also, the text incorporates new learning objectives, graphics, and maps throughout. In response to reviewer's requests, this new edition expands the coverage of Islamic art into its own chapter. MyArtsLab is an integral part of the Davies et al, program. Key learning applications include, Art 21 and Studio Technique videos, 360-degree architectural panoramas and simulations and Closer Look tours. A better teaching and learning experience The teaching and learning experience with this program helps to: Personalize Learning- MyArtsLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program. It helps students prepare for class and instructor gauge individual and class performance. mprove Critical Thinking -- "Points of Inquiry" and "Points of Reflection" coordinated with learning objectives help students think critically about what they have read. Engage Students-- Updated images, MyArtsLab, and the clarity of the text provide a wonderful engaging student experience. Support Instructors -- Instructor resources are available in one convenient location. Figures, videos, and teacher support materials create a dynamic, engaging course. NOTE: MyArtsLab does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase the text with MyArtsLab , order the package ISBN: 0205925928 / 9780205925926 Janson's Basic History of Western Art Plus NEW MyArtsLab with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0205206565 / 9780205206568 NEW MyArtsLab with Pearson eText -- Valuepack Access Card 0205242634 / 9780205242634 Janson's Basic History of Western Art
The Story of Art by
The Story of Art, one of the most famous and popular books on art ever written, has been a world bestseller for over four decades. Attracted by the simplicity and clarity of his writing, readers of all ages and backgrounds have found in Professor Gombrich a true master, and one who combines knowledge and wisdom with a unique gift for communicating his deep love of the subject. For the first time in many years the book has been completely redesigned. The illustrations, now in colour throughout, have all been improved and reoriginated, and include six fold-outs. The text has been revised and updated where appropriate, and a number of significant new artists have been incorporated. The bibliographies have been expanded and updated, and the maps and charts redrawn. The Story of Art has always been admired for two key qualities: it is a pleasure to read and a pleasure to handle. In these respects the new edition is true to its much-loved predecessors: the text runs as smoothly as ever and the improved illustrations are always on the page where the reader needs them. In its new edition, this classic work continues its triumphant progress tirelessly for yet another generation, to remain the title of first choice for any newcomer to art or the connoisseur.
Vision and Difference by 
World Views by
This text comprises eleven chapters, each focusing on a discrete area of non-Western or Native American art. With nearly 180 illustrations (many in full color) and an accessible 8 1/2 x 11 format, students are introduced to important subjects and artworks outside of the Western tradition.
Art and Culture by
"Clement Greenberg is, internationally, the best-known American art critic popularly considered to be the man who put American vanguard painting and sculpture on the world map. . . . An important book for everyone interested in modern painting and sculpture."--The New York Times
The Collector of Lives by
An accomplished painter, architect and diplomat, Giorgio Vasari (1511?1574) is best known for Lives of the Artists, his classic account of the great masters--an extraordinary book that invented the genre of artistic biography, single-handedly established the canon of Italian Renaissance art and founded the cults of Raphael, Leonardo and Michelangelo that persist to this day. Vasari positioned art as an intellectual pursuit instead of just a technical skill, teaching us to view artists as geniuses and visionaries rather than as simple craftsmen.Immersing readers in the world of the Medici and the popes, Ingrid Rowland and Noah Charney show the great works of Western culture taking shape amid the thrilling culture of Renaissance Italy.
The Essential Gombrich by
This volume presents an accessible selection of Professor Gombrich's best and most characteristic writing, and introduces the general reader to his ideas and arguments on many fundamental questions. In these meticulously assimilated writings he discusses the nature of representation, the psychology of perception, the interpretation of images, the problems of theory and method, the idea of progress, and symbolism and meaning in art. Professor Gombrich's writings include three major narrative works - The Story of Art, Art and Illusionand The Sense of Order- plus 11 volumes of collected essays and reviews. This anthology brings together a selection from all these books and in addition six pieces not previously published by Phaidon. It thus introduces the reader to the entire range of Gombrich's thought. Richard Woodfield writes a general introduction, and provides extensive notes and guides to further reading.
Philosophizing Art by
Arthur Danto's work has always affirmed a deep relationship between philosophy and art. These essays explore this relationship through a number of concrete cases in which either artists are driven by philosophical agendas or their art is seen as solving philosophical problems in visual terms. The essays cover a varied terrain, with subjects including Giotto's use of olfactory data in The Raising of Lazarus; chairs in art and chairs as art; Mel Bochner's Wittgenstein drawings; the work of Robert Motherwell, Andy Warhol, and Robert Irwin; Louis Kahn as "Archai-Tekt"; and visual truth in film. Also featured are a meditation on the battle of Gettysburg; and a celebration of the Japanese artist Shiko Munakata, an essay that is partly autobiographical. Arthur C. Danto is one of the most original and multitalented philosophers writing today, a thinker whose interests traverse the boundaries of traditional understandings of philosophy. Best known for his contributions to the philosophy of art and aesthetics, Danto is also esteemed for his work in the history of philosophy, the philosophy of history, philosophical psychology, and action theory. These two volumes, each with an introduction by the author, contain essays spanning more than twenty-five years that have been selected to highlight the inseparability of philosophy and art in Danto's work. Together they present the thinking of Arthur C. Danto at his very best.
Pliny on Art and Society by
Pliny sketches a theory of advancing moral decline and extravagance, in the course of which he gives a detailed account of six centuries of classical art and a fascinating sketch of the world of the rich Roman collector. Isager's is the first full treatment of this subject for over a hundred years.
Representing Women by
Women - as warriors, workers, mothers, sensual women, even absent mothers - haunt 19th- and 20th-century Western painting. This text brings together Linda Nochlin's most important and pioneering writings on the subject, as she considers work by Miller, Delacroix, Courbet, Degas, Seurat, Cassatt and Kollwitz, among many others. In her partly autobiographical, extended introduction, she argues for the honest virtues of an art history which rejects methodological assumptions, and for art historians who investigate the work before their eyes while focusing on its subject matter, informed by a sensitivity to its feminist spirit.
What It Means to Write about Art: Interviews with Art Critics by
The most comprehensive portrait of art criticism ever assembled, as told by the leading writers of our time. In the last fifty years, art criticism has flourished as never before. Moving from niche to mainstream, it is now widely taught at universities, practiced in newspapers, magazines, and online, and has become the subject of debate by readers, writers, and artists worldwide. Equal parts oral history and analysis of craft, What it Means to Write About Art offers an unprecedented overview of American art writing. These thirty in-depth conversations chart the role of the critic as it has evolved from the 1960s to today, providing an invaluable resource for aspiring artists and writers alike. Jarrett Earnest's wide-ranging conversations with critics, historians, journalists, novelists, poets, and theorists-each of whom approach the subject from unique positions-illustrate different ways of writing, thinking, and looking at art. Interviews with: Hilton Als, John Ashbery, Bill Berkson, Yve-Alain Bois, Huey Copeland, Holland Cotter, Douglas Crimp, Darby English, Hal Foster, Michael Fried, Thyrza Nichols Goodeve, Dave Hickey, Siri Hustvedt, Kellie Jones, Chris Kraus, Rosalind Krauss, Lucy Lippard, Fred Moten, Eileen Myles, Molly Nesbit, Jed Perl, Barbara Rose, Jerry Saltz, Peter Schjeldahl, Barry Schwabsky, Paul Chaat Smith, Roberta Smith, Lynne Tillman, Michele Wallace, and John Yau
Subject Heading: Art, Prehistoric
Cave Art by
This book reveals some of the world's oldest and most remarkable works of art, the discovery of which transformed the way we think about the development of human artistic endeavour and creativity. A guided tour of European prehistoric caves by world-renowned expert Jean Clottes, Cave Art brings together an unparalleled selection of spectacular and beautiful images of wall paintings, mysterious rock engravings and refined sculptures, all accompanied by accessible, informative text.
Lascaux by
Discovered by chance by two boys in France in 1940, the cave of Lascaux, with its radiant wall paintings of bison, aurochs, horses, and deer, offers us the most astonishing view we have of the shadowy, powerful animal world of the Old Stone Age some 18,000 years ago. In the early 1960s, when it became clear that the paintings were beginning to fade as countless tourists flocked to see them, the cave was sealed, ancient atmospheric conditions were restored, and even scientists were allowed to enter the cave only a few hours each week. Today this prehistoric monument remains closed to the public. Following 10 years of research on the Lascaux cave, the prehistorian and geologist Norbert Aujoulat offers us his stunning interpretation of the paintings. In this lavishly illustrated volume, packed with new photographs, maps, and explanatory diagrams of the paintings, he takes us on a journey from the entrance of the cave back to its deepest and most hidden parts. In the process, he provides us with new insight into these remarkable works, tracing the birth of ancient mythologies, and of art.
Art and Myth in Ancient Greece by
Here is the first scholarly, comprehensive and succinct survey of the treatment of myth by the artists of ancient Greece. With its copious illustrations, it forms an indispensable and unrivaled reference work for everybody interested in art, drama, poetry, anthropology or religion. There is no surviving account in ancient Greek literature of of stories as important as the fall of Troy or Theseus and the Minotaur. It is to visual sources that we have to turn for much of our knowledge of the myths. Vase paintings, engraved gems and sculpture in bronze and and stone often pre-date reference to the myths in literature or offer alternative versions to the familiar accounts; always they throw light on the way the Greeks understood the stories of gods and heroes.
The Art of Ancient Greece by
Beyond the classical image we have of Greek art, there is a more primitive image of a striking modernity. Although this image is in evidence, this book also emphasises the more primitive aspect of the beginnings of Greek art, and analyses these masterpieces.
Assyria to Iberia by
A sweeping survey of objects from one of the richest artistic periods in history This comprehensive book explores the spectacular art of the first millennium B.C. from the Near East to Western Europe. This was the world of Odysseus, in which trade proliferated with Phoenician merchants; of King Midas, whose tomb was adorned with treasures; and of the Bible, whose stories are illuminated by recent artistic and archeological discoveries. It was also a time of rich cultural exchange across the Mediterranean and Near East as diverse populations interacted through trade, travel, and migration. Assyria to Iberia showcases masterpieces that reflect the cultural encounters of this era. Stunning details convey the beauty and significance of more than 300 objects drawn from collections around the globe. These objects include carved reliefs from the majestic palaces of ancient Assyria, Phoenician fine bronze metalwork and carved ivories, and luxurious jewelry. Texts by over 80 international scholars provide a compelling picture of this fascinating period, one that is essential to understanding the origins of Western culture and art.
Etruscan Art by
This volume-the first serious book in English on Etruscan art-was hailed for its broad scope, thorough knowledge, and clear exposition when it was published almost twenty years ago. Now brought back into print with an updated bibliography and bibliographical essay by Francesca R. Serra Ridgway, it remains an essential introduction for anyone interested in ancient art, history, and civilization. Otto Brendel's exploration of the art, culture, and society of Etruria takes us through its four main periods of creativity: the Villanovan and Orientalizing era, the Archaic era, the Classical era, and the Hellenistic era, when Etruscan art became extinct. According to Brendel, the Etruscans were deeply influenced by Greek styles but used Greek forms and concepts to further their own purposes. Etruscan art is a private art, aristocratic and luxurious but centered in the life of the family and a continuing life in the tomb. Many of the art forms and objects discussed-ceramics, metalware, jewelry, sculpture, and wall painting-are known to us through the discovery of tombs. Most of these objects had a clearly defined function but were also designed, with a high degree of quality and craftsmanship, to be decorative. The beautiful art of the Etruscans, illustrated and explained in this book, sheds much light on a people about whom we know little.
A History of Roman Art by
A HISTORY OF ROMAN ART, ENHANCED EDITION is a lavishly-illustrated survey of the art of Rome and the Roman Empire from the time of Romulus to the death of Constantine, presented in its historical, political, and social context. This ENHANCED EDITION has added coverage on Etruscan art in the beginning of the text. All aspects of Roman art and architecture are treated, including private art and domestic architecture, the art of the Eastern and Western provinces, the art of freedmen, and the so-called minor arts, including cameos, silverware, and coins. The book is divided into four parts-Monarchy and Republic, Early Empire, High Empire, and Late Empire-and traces the development of Roman art from its beginnings in the 8th century BCE to the mid fourth century CE, with special chapters devoted to Pompeii and Herculaneum, Ostia, funerary and provincial art and architecture, and the earliest Christian art.The original edition of this text was warmly received in the market based on a high level of scholarship, comprehensive contents, and superb visuals.
Subject Heading: Art, Medieval
Early Medieval Art by
Lawrence Nees explores issues of artist patronage, craftsmanship, holy men and women, monasteries, secular courts, and the expressive and educational roles of artistic creation, in this detailed and up-to-date study of the artworks of the medieval age. Early Christian art within the late Roman tradition, and the arts of the newly established kingdoms of northern Europe, are presented by Nees not as opposites, but as different aspects of a larger historical situation. This approach reveals the onset of an exciting new visual relationship between the church and the populace throughout medieval Europe.
Subject Heading: Art, Renaissance
Fra Angelico by 
Hans Memling, Master Painter in Fifteenth-Century Bruges by
Hans Memling was the leading painter in Bruges during the last quarter of the fifteenth century, receiving commissions from patrons in England, Germany and Italy as well as Flanders itself. For the Romantics of the nineteenth century, he ranked even above Jan van Eyck as the greatest of the Flemish primitives. By the middle of the twentieth century, however, his exalted reputation had declined sharply under the shadow of his presumed teacher, Rogier van der Weyden. In 1953, Panofsky labelled Memling a major minor master, leading subsequent writers to consider him unworthy of serious study. It was only in 1994, the five-hundredth anniversary of his death, that the major exhibition on Memling in Bruges launched a veritable flood of publications on his life and work, finally granting him the recognition he deserves.This book contributes to the ongoing reappraisal of Memling by addressing some of the tantalizing problems that remain unresolved despite much recent study of his work. Beginning with the question of his training, the text follows him on his Wanderjahre from his native Germany to Bruges, where he became a citizen in 1465. It then considers his activities as a master painter in Bruges, concentrating on the late fifteenth and early sixteenth centuries, including the work of such major artists as Leonardo da Vinci and Raphael.
Italian Renaissance Art by
Art historian Laurie Schneider Adams brings to students a vibrant and engaging presentation of Renaissance art history that is supported by up-to-date scholarship and methodology. The text opens with the late Byzantine work of Cimabue and concludes with the transition to Mannerism. The author's focus is on the most important and innovative artists and their principal works, with a clear emphasis on selectivity and understanding.Italian Renaissance Art also focuses on style and iconography, and on art and artists, incorporating different methodological approaches to create a wider understanding and appreciation of the art.Distinguishing features of this text include: Over 400 illustrations, with 215 in full color, are integrated with the text, and large enough to properly view. In depth coverage on the most important and innovative artists and their principle works throughout Italy. Side boxes that provide additional material on techniques, biographical data, descriptions of artistic media, as well as necessary background information are used in every chapter. "Controversy" boxes introduce some of the ongoing scholarly quarrels among Renaissance art historians. Maps, plans, and diagrams are also included throughout. A historical chronology, a full glossary of art-historical terms, and a select bibliography are also included at the end of the text.
Masters of Art by
Traces the development of the elder Bruegel's style through a text and numerous reproductions of his paintings.
Piero Della Francesca by 
Robert Campin by
Keenly anticipated by art historians throughout the world, this comprehensive study is dedicated to the work of Robert Campin, who, along with van Eyck, is considered the founder of the Netherlandish school of painting of the Early Renaissance.
Titian by 
Angelica Kauffmann, R. A. 1741-1807 by
Considered by her contemporaries to be one of the greatest and most influential painters of her time, Kaufman's reputation has since fluctuated. Now, with the revival of interest in the neo-classical era, she has regained her true position in the opinion
Antonio Canova and the Politics of Patronage in Revolutionary and Napoleonic Europe by
The Venetian sculptor Antonio Canova (1757-1822) was Europe's most celebrated artist from the end of the ancien r#65533;gime to the early years of the Restoration, an era when the traditional relationship between patrons and artists changed drastically. Christopher M. S. Johns's refreshingly original study explores a neglected facet of Canova's career: the effects of patrons, patronage, and politics on his choice of subjects and manner of working. While other artists produced art in the service of the state, Canova resisted the blandishments of the political powers that commissioned his works. Johns uses letters, diaries, and biographies to establish a political personality for Canova as an individual and an artist of international reputation. Though he had patrons as diverse as the pope, Napoleon, the Austrian Hapsburgs, the Prince Regent of Great Britain, and the Republic of Venice, Canova remained steadily employed and did so without controversy. A conservative and a Catholic, he devised a strategy that enabled him to work for patrons who were avowed enemies while remaining true to the cultural and artistic heritage of his Italian homeland. Using myth and funerary images and avoiding portraiture, he disguised the meanings behind his works and thus avoided their being identified with any political purpose. Johns greatly enhances our understanding of Canova's place in European art and political history, and in showing the influence of censorship, display, visual narrative, and propaganda, he highlights issues as contentious today as they were in Canova's time.
Neo-Classicism by 
Neoclassicism by
Neoclassicism was the favourite style of both Napoleon and Thomas Jefferson, and made Josiah Wedgwood's fortune. The most pervasive style in the history of European art, it was deployed in the design of houses, churches, museums, banks, shops and items of daily use ranging from teapots to textiles. This book is the first to embrace all manifestations of the style, not only its broad territorial scope, but also its versatility in every branch of art.
The Complete Graphic Work of William Blake by 
Goya by
With more than 240 illustrations--featuring 120 reproductions on the special translucent paper used in Fra Angelico. 84 full-color and 70 two-color illustrations on special paper and 86 black-and-white drawings.
J. M. W. Turner by
Widely regarded as one of the greatest landscape painters in the history of art, Turner's influence on the development of Impressionism has been well documented. What has been less explored is the way his influence spread beyond Europe, providing a foundational model for American artists challenged with tackling the vast panoramas of the New World. Landscape painting was seen as the art form most closely allied to the identity of the newly independent nation which encompassed an unparalleled diversity of landscape scenery. Turner's revolutionary depictions of light, colour and atmospherics in the landscape coupled with his understanding of the sublime in nature made him among the most acclaimed and keenly studied European artists in the New World. Accompanying the largest ever touring exhibition of Turner's works in the USA, J.M.W. Turner will explore the artist's legacy and the importance of his ideas for succeeding generations of painters on both sides of the Atlantic. Written by leading Turner scholars from Britain and America, the book will be extensively illustrated in full colour throughout, providing both an overview of Turner's career and an exploration of Turner's relevance to the USA today and to American art history. Containing new research by some of the world's leading authorities on Turner and North American landscape painting, and combining expertise from British and American museums and institutions, this publication will prove invaluable to all with a serious interest in one of history's most influential and remarkable artists.
Tate British Artists: John Constable by
John Constable (1776-1837) is best known for his idyllic paintings of the English countryside. Yet he was also a brilliant innovator who brought a new vivacity to the observation of nature. He practiced oil painting in the open air, capturing in particular the "effervescent" effects of atmospherics - as can be seen, for example, in his wonderful studies of clouds. His art became a benchmark for naturalist painters throughout Europe and America in the 19th century, and he continues to be one of the most popular and influential artists today. This book draws extensively on the artist's own correspondence to provide a fresh understanding of his artistic aims and achievements, and reassesses his role in the development of modern art.
Subject Heading: Art, Modern -- 20th century
Concepts of Modern Art by
The main concepts and development of art from about 1900 to the present are analyzed in authoritative essays by some of the most distinguished art historians and critics in Britain and the United States. With Edward Lucie-Smith on Pop Art, Suzi Gablik on Minimal Art, Norbert Lynton on Expressionism, and Sarah Whitfield on Fauvism, to name a few, these scholarly essays illuminate each particular artistic movement of the century, and together form an entire history of modern art. 123 illus.
History of Modern Art by
A Comprehensive Overview -- available in digital and print formats History of Modern Art is a visual comprehensive overview of the modern art field. It traces the trends and influences in painting, sculpture, photography and architecture from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. The seventh edition deepens its discussions on social conditions that have affected the production and reception of modern and contemporary art. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers should be able to: Understand the origins of modern art Provide an analysis of artworks based on formal and contextual elements Recognize the influences of social conditions on modern art
Inventing Abstraction 1910-1925: How a Radical Idea Changed Modern Art by
Inventing Abstraction 1910-1925 explores the development of abstraction from the moment of its declaration around 1912 to its establishment as the foundation of avant-garde practice in the mid-1920s. The book brings together many of the most influential works in abstraction's early history to draw a cross-media portrait of this watershed moment in which traditional art was reinvented in a wholesale way. Works are presented in groups that serve as case studies, each engaging a key topic in abstraction's first years: an artist, a movement, an exhibition or thematic concern. Key focal points include Vasily Kandinsky's ambitious Compositions V, VI and VII; a selection of Piet Mondrian's work that offers a distilled narrative of his trajectory to Neo-plasticism; and all the extant Suprematist pictures that Kazimir Malevich showed in the landmark '0.10' exhibition in 1915.
Kandinsky Compositions by
Essay by Magdalena Dabrowski. Foreword by Richard E. Oldenburg.
Marc Chagall by
Part of the Jewish Encounter series Novelist and critic Jonathan Wilson clears away the sentimental mists surrounding an artist whose career spanned two world wars, the Russian Revolution, the Holocaust, and the birth of the State of Israel. Marc Chagall's work addresses these transforming events, but his ambivalence about his role as a Jewish artist adds an intriguing wrinkle to common assumptions about his life. Drawn to sacred subject matter, Chagall remains defiantly secular in outlook; determined to "narrate" the miraculous and tragic events of the Jewish past, he frequently chooses Jesus as a symbol of martyrdom and sacrifice. Wilson brilliantly demonstrates how Marc Chagall's life constitutes a grand canvas on which much of twentieth-century Jewish history is vividly portrayed. Chagall left Belorussia for Paris in 1910, at the dawn of modernism, looking back dreamily on the world he abandoned. After his marriage to Bella Rosenfeld in 1915, he moved to Petrograd, but eventually returned to Paris after a stint as a Soviet commissar for art. Fleeing Paris steps ahead of the Nazis, Chagall arrived in New York in 1941. Drawn to Israel, but not enough to live there, Chagall grappled endlessly with both a nostalgic attachment to a vanished past and the magnetic pull of an uninhibited secular present. Wilson's portrait of Chagall is altogether more historical, more political, and edgier than conventional wisdom would have us believe-showing us how Chagall is the emblematic Jewish artist of the twentieth century. Visit nextbook.org/chagall for a virtual museum of Chagall images.
The Paintings of Joan Mitchell by
Joan Mitchell (1926-1992) was one of the few women among the first-rank Abstract Expressionist painters. She outpaced all but a handful of her male mentors and counterparts, while only Lee Krasner stands as a possible rival among her female counterparts. Although well regarded by critics, fellow artists, and the general public, Mitchell's achievement has never received full recognition; her work has not been shown in New York for more than twenty-five years. This exquisitely illustrated volume and the exhibition that it accompanies restore the artist to her rightful place in the history of American painting. Spanning Mitchell's entire career, from early works of 1951 until the year of her death, The Paintings of Joan Mitchell includes a wealth of breathtaking paintings, both intimate and grand in scale, that reveal Mitchell's fierce dedication to her art and reflect both the struggles and the artistic triumphs she achieved with her distinctive vision of Abstract Expressionism. Jane Livingston draws on the artist's personal papers, including her journals and extensive correspondence, to provide an illuminating interpretation of the artist and her work. Linda Nochlin, who was a friend of Mitchell, discusses the artist's experience working in a field dominated by men. A third text by Whitney Curator Yvette Lee explores a distinctive and little-known suite of paintings entitled La Grande Vall#65533;e, created in 1983-84. Mounted with the full cooperation of the estate of Joan Mitchell, the exhibition contains many paintings rarely seen before--and in some cases never publicly exhibited. This book includes an exhibition history; an extensive artist bibliography of related monographs, reviews, and filmed interviews; and color plates and listing of all the works appearing in the exhibition.
Paul Cézanne, 1839-1906: Pioneer of Modernism by 
The Unknown Matisse by
Hilary Spurling presents a thorough and riveting account of Matisse's early life, from his beginnings as the son of shopkeepers in Flanders through his impoverished days as a student at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts. Tracing Matisse's life through his thirties, Spurling describes how the artist's stubborn northern temperament helped sustain him through many challenges, both artistic and financial, as he found his way as a painter.
Cai Guo-Qiang: I Want to Believe by
'Cai Guo-Qiang' accompanies the most comprehensive exhibition to date of the innovative body of work of Chinese-born artist Cai Guo-Qiang.
Christopher Wool by
At the heart of Christopher Wool's creative project, which spans three decades of highly focused practice, is the question of how a picture can be conceived, realized and experienced today. Engaging the complexities of painting as a medium, as well as the anxious rhythms of the urban environment and a wide range of cultural references, his agile, largely monochrome works propose an open-ended series of responses to this central problem. Published on the occasion of the artist's retrospective at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York, organized by Katherine Brinson, Associate Curator, and supported by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, this exhibition catalogue presents a rich selection of paintings, photographs and works on paper, forming the most comprehensive examination of Wool's career to date. This fully illustrated publication includes essays by Katherine Brinson, Suzanne Hudson, Richard Prince and James Rondeau, as well as a definitive bibliography and exhibition history.
Contemporary Art by
Contemporary Art: World Currents is the first comprehensive worldwide survey of contemporary art from the 1980s to the present day. Author Terry Smith argues that, in recent decades, a global shift from modern to contemporary art has occurred: artists everywhere have embraced the contemporary world's teeming multiplicity, its proliferating differences and its challenging complexities and new technologies. Alongside more than 350 carefully selected color images of key works, Terry Smith offers the first account of these changes, from their historical beginnings to the present day. Exploring key works by both well known and little-known artists, the author shows how contemporary art achieved definitive force in the markets and museums of the major art centres during the 1980s and then became a global phenomenon as artworlds everywhere began to connect more closely: new communicative technologies and expanding social media are now shaping the future of art. Contemporary Art: World Currents breaks new ground in tracing how modern, traditional and indigenous art became contemporary in each cultural region of the world, ranging across Western, East and Central Europe, North and South America and the Caribbean, Oceania, Africa, and the Middle East. Terry Smith lays the groundwork for a new comparative approach to contemporary art, emphasizing its relationships to all aspects of contemporary life. He argues that it is cultural diversity and individual artistic inventiveness, not a convergence towards sameness, which makes today's art contemporary. Contemporary Art: World Currents brings the subject right up-todate, highlighting the concerns of contemporary artists while giving the reader an invaluable insight to art today. Teaching and Learning Experience Improve Critical Thinking- Explore how contemporary art has become a global, connected phenomenon Engage Students- Looks at the work of contemporary artists from across the world. Support Instructors- Image PowerPoints slides are available for Contemporary Art: World Currents.
Jeff Koons by 
Kara Walker by
Selected texts that survey the full range of Kara Walker's artistic practice, emphasizing the work itself rather than the debates and controversies around it. Kara Walker's work and its borrowings from an iconography linked to the fantasized and travestied history of American chattel slavery has been theorized and critiqued in countless texts throughout her career. Exegeses of her work have been shaped by the numerous debates on the very debates it generated. How, then, do we approach a work that has been covered by such "thick theoretical layers"? This collection is unique in emphasizing Walker's work itself rather than the controversies surrounding it. These essays and interviews survey Walker's artistic practice from her early works in the 1990s through her most recent ones, from her famous silhouette projects to her lesser-known drawings and lantern shows. The texts, by art historians, curators, critics, scholars, and writers engage scrupulously with Walker's pieces as material works of art, putting them in the context of the sociopolitical and cultural environments that shape-but never determine-them. They include an interview of the artist by Thelma Golden of the Studio Museum in Harlem; an essay in the form of a lexicon, cataloguing key elements in Walker's art, by curator Yasmil Raymond; and an essay by volume editor Vanina Gere on Walker's use of historical archives. Finally, novelist Zadie Smith considers Walker's public art as counter-propositions to colonial monuments and as a reflection on colonial history. Contributors Lorraine Morales Cox, Vanina Gere, Thelma Golden, Tavia Nyong'o, Yasmil Raymond, Jerry Saltz, Zadie Smith, Anne M. Wagner, Hamza Walker
Marina Abramovic by
Since the beginning of her career in Belgrade in the late 1960s, Marina Abramovic has been a pioneer of performance art, creating some of the most important works in the field. Marina Abramovic: The Artist is Present accompanies an exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art that documents approximately fifty of the artist's ephemeral, time- and media-based works from throughout her career. The book will also discuss a unique element of the Museum's retrospective, live performance: a new work created for the occasion, and performed by the artist herself; and recreations of Abramovic's works by other performers - the first such to be undertaken in a museum setting. The book spans over four decades of Abramovic's early interventions, and sound pieces, video works, installations, photographs, solo performances and collaborative performances made with the Dutch artist Ulay (Uwe Laysiepen). Its essays examine Abramovic's ideas of time, duration, and the reperformance of performance art as a way to extend it into posterity. Marina Abramovic also includes a CD, an audio recording of the artist's own voice, guiding the reader through the publication. The artist is present not only in the exhibition but also in the experience of the book.
African Art by
The art of the Fang, the BaTeke, the BaKota, and other African peoples is extraordinarily vigorous and shows a brilliant sense of form. The substantial aesthetic impact that their works have had on the development of twentieth-century Western art--on Picasso, Derain, Braque, and Modigliani, among others--continues to this day. This classic study reveals the astonishing variety and expressive power of the art of a continent that contains more distinct peoples and cultures than any other. The revised edition has been updated throughout, incorporating recent research and additional illustrations, plus a new chapter and extended bibliography. It remains an invaluable resource for students and for anyone interested in African art.
Art and Artifact by
Focussing on 160 items, Art/Artifact examines shifting notions of art as opposed to everyday artifact.
Art of Ethiopia by
The unique character of Ethiopian art is the legacy of its situation high in the mountains, on the Horn of Africa. Though remote and often isolated it evolved a tradition in response to contacts with Byzantine, European, and Islamic cultures. Beginning in the twelfth century, elaborate crosses were cast and engraved in iron and bronze. Painted and carved icons were produced in a tradition that reached its peak at the end of the seventeenth century. Above all it is richly illustrated manuscripts which have provided the most defining expression of Ethiopian Christianity.
Spirits Speak by
The masks seen in these pages represent diversity and an aesthetic power that rivals the most renowned works of art from around the world. Originating from more than thirty countries throughout Africa, the masks featured here are shown in stunning full-page reproductions and accompanied by field photographs. Each mask reflects a strong personal and artistic vision, and embodies ancestors and beings from the spirit world. The selected masks can be identified by magic expression, noble proportions, and delicate surface detail. Enlightening commentary offers background information about the function and origins of the masks' use within the ethnic groups from which they originate. A beautifully produced full-color foldout map places each mask in its original site, which together with the stunning reproductions, field photographs, and text, creates a magnificent celebration of African artistry and culture. AUTHOR: Peter Stepan is the author of World Art: Africa (Prestel), and a number of other publications on African art. Iris Hahner is an ethnologist and author of many publications on African art, including African Masks: The Barbier-Mueller Collection Illustrations throughout
Aztec Art by 
A History of American Art by 
Contemporary Chinese Art by
Despite the liveliness and creativity of avant-garde Chinese art in the post-Mao era and its prominence in the world of international contemporary art, until now there has been no systematic introduction to this important work in any Western language. Moreover, most of the relevant primary documents have existed only in Chinese, scattered in hard-to-find publications. Contemporary Chinese Art remedies this situation by bringing together carefully selected primary texts in English translation. Arranged in chronological order, the texts guide readers through the development of avant-garde Chinese art from 1976 until 2006. Because experimental Chinese art emerged as a domestic phenomenon in the 1970s and 1980s and its subsequent development has been closely related to China's social and economical transformation, this volume focuses on art from mainland China. At the same time, it encompasses the activities of mainland artists residing overseas, since artists who emigrated in the 1980s and 1990s were often key participants in the early avant-garde movements and have continued to interact with the mainland art world. The primary documents include the manifestos of avant-garde groups, prefaces to important exhibitions, writings by representative artists, important critical and analytical essays, and even some official documents. Each chapter and section begins with a concise preface explaining the significance of the texts and providing the necessary historical background; the volume includes a timeline summarizing important art phenomena and related political events. Publication of the Museum of Modern Art
The First Emperor by
Standing guard around the tomb of Qin Shihuangdi, the ranks of a terracotta army bear silent witness to the vast power of the First Emperor of the Qin Dynasty, who unified China in 221 BCE . Six thousand warriors and horses make up the army, while chariots, a military guard, and a command post complete the host. A new look at one of the most spectacular finds in the annals of archaeology, this book also considers the historical and archaeological context of the Terracotta Army, as well as the extensive research and excavation carried out since its discovery in 1974. In richly illustrated chapters, experts in the field describe the Qin's rise and military conquest, the empire's ideology and practices, and the emperor's achievements and legacy. The authors examine the site itself, including new discoveries such as terracotta bureaucrats, acrobats, and strongmen, life-size bronze birds, hundreds of suits of stone armor, and terracotta warriors with colored faces preserved with new technology. From explorations of the massive mausoleum and the rituals that surrounded it, to explanations of the actual manufacture of the Terracotta Army, the book offers a detailed and authoritative tour of one of ancient history's most eloquent memorials, with all it says of China's long and coherent cultural past--and future potential.
Hokusai and His Age by
This profusely illustrated volume presents groundbreaking scholarship on the Ukiyo-e artist Katsushika Hokusai (1760-1849) and his immediate artistic and literary circles. Achieving worldwide renown for his dramatic landscape print series, such as the "Thirty-six Views of Mt. Fuji", Hokusai also excelled in book illustrations, erotica, and privately commissioned woodcuts called "surimono". Aspects of the artist's innovative and novel approach to the graphic arts are discussed in the first half of this volume. Less well known, Hokusai was a highly accomplished painter who oversaw a studio of several close pupils, including his daughter Ôi, who often worked in a style closely resembling his own. The study of Hokusai's corpus of paintings thus raises many complex issues of authorship, dating and authenticity -- further complicated by the abundant production of forgeries both during and after his lifetime. An appendix of recognized Hokuzai seals helps further clarify this aspect of the artist's work. The distinguished roster of contributors includes: Asano Shugo, Gian Carlo Calza, John T. Carpenter, Timothy T. Clark, Doris Croissant, Kobayashi Tadashi, Kubota Kazuhiro Roger Keyes, Matsudaira Susumu, Matthi Forrer, Naito Masato, David Pollack, John M. Rosenfield, Timon Screech, Segi Shin'ichi, Henry D. Smith II, and Tsuji Nobuo. The publication is sponsored by the International Hokusai Research Centre at the University of Venice and the Sainsbury Institute for the Study of Japanese Arts and Cultures (SISJAC), London and Norwich.
The Adventures of Hamza by 
The Art of the Mussulmans in Spain by
This book covers in rich detail a period of Islamic history not accessible to most scholars of Islamic Art. It discusses the influences on the Muslims, which were brought to bear on the artifacts and architecture of Spain during the period of the Moorish Kingdoms in Spain. Shahid Suhrawardy writes not only of the political history but weaves in the social mores prevalent at the time. Along with detailed descriptions of ivories, laces and other objects found in the Islamic collections of many of the European museums of that time, he also gives a picture of the people, their aspirations, and constraints.
Beyond Babylon by
This important volume describes the extraordinary art created in the second millennium B.C. for royal palaces, temples, and tombs from Mesopotamia, Syria, and Anatolia to Cyprus, Egypt, and the Aegean. Objects of the highest artistry reflect the development of a sophisticated trade network throughout the eastern Mediterranean region and the resulting fusion of Near Eastern, Aegean, and Egyptian cultural styles. The impact of these far-flung connections is documented in the precious materials sent to royal and temple treasuries and, most dramatically, in objects discovered on merchant shipwrecks off the shores of southern Anatolia. The history of the period and the artistic creativity fostered by interaction among the powers of the ancient Near East, both great and small, are discussed by an international group of scholars in essays and entries on the more than 350 objects included in the exhibition, continuing the fascinating story begun in the landmark catalogue Art of the First Cities (2003).
The Golden Age of Persian Art 1501-1722 by
World Fisheries Resources provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of how this commodity is used. The author examines the various aspects of fishing resources from their biological basis through to marketing and consumption. The subject is set in context by tracing the historical development, from its archaeological origins to the industrial expansion of the 19th and 20th centuries. The work comes up-to-date to discuss the modern situation and current trends in both the developed and developing worlds and highlights how exploitation of the resource has increased in recent years.
Islamic Art and Visual Culture by
Islamic Art and Visual Culture is a collection of primary sources in translation accompanied by clear and concise introductory essays that provide unique insights into the aesthetic and cultural history of one of the world's major religions. Collects essential translations from sources as diverse as the Qur'an, court chronicles, technical treatises on calligraphy and painting, imperial memoirs, and foreign travel accounts Includes clear and concise introductory essays Situates each text and explains the circumstances in which it was written--the date, place, author, and political conditions Provides a vivid window into Islamic visual culture and society An indispensable tool for teachers and students of art and visual culture
Modern Art in the Arab World by
Modern Art in the Arab World: Primary Documents offers an unprecedented resource for the study of modernism: a compendium of critical art writings by twentieth-century Arab intellectuals and artists. The selection of texts--many of which appear here for the first time in English--includes manifestos, essays, transcripts of roundtable discussions, diary entries, exhibition guest-book comments, letters, and more. Traversing empires and nation-states, diasporas and speculative cultural and political federations, these documents bring light to the formation of a global modernism, through debates on originality, public space, spiritualism and art, postcolonial exhibition politics, and Arab nationalism, among many other topics. The collection is framed chronologically, and includes contextualizing commentaries to assist readers in navigating its broad geographic and historical scope. Interspersed throughout the volume are sixteen contemporary essays: writings by scholars on key terms and events as well as personal reflections by modern artists who were themselves active in the histories under consideration. A newly commissioned essay by historian and Arab-studies scholar Ussama Makdisi provides a historical overview of the region's intertwined political and cultural developments during the twentieth century. Modern Art in the Arab World is an essential addition to the investigation of modernism and its global manifestations. Publication of the Museum of Modern Art Distributed by Duke University Press
Australia by
This landmark book charts the development of Australian art, from early Aboriginal paintings and the work of the 1st colonial settlers, to the artists of today whose work reflects their culturally diverse background. Exploring this eclectic 300-year history, the book also celebrates key moments in the Australian canon, such as Sidney Nolan's iconic painting series that followed the exploits of the outlaw Ned Kelly, a project which began in the 1940s. In recent years artists such as Tracey Moffatt, Fiona Hall and Vernon Ah Kee have emerged, establishing a highly original native art scene of international standing. The art of this continent is indelibly linked to its epic landscape. This book focuses especially on this complex and evolving alliance, illustrated in paintings, prints, drawings and photographs, as well as film and video stills. The distinctive Australian terrain is in constant dialogue with its people; this book examines the ways in which Australian artists have sought to negotiate their identities in relation to the extreme conditions of their land. Thomas Keneally is an Australian novelist, playwright and non-fiction author. Franchesca Cubillo is Curator of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art at the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra. Anna Gray is Curator of Painting and Sculpture before 1920, also at the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra. Deborah Hart is Curator of Painting and Sculpture after 1920 at the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra. Ron Radford is the Director of the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra. Wally Caruana is an independent curator, formerly a curator at National Gallery of Australia, Canberra. Daniel Thomas is an independent curator based in Australia. Kathleen Soriano was Director of Exhibitions at the Royal Academy of Arts. SELLING POINTS: * A stunning exploration of the development of art in Australia both before and after colonisation * Beautifully illustrated essays exlore the diverse influences on Australian artists, and in particular their relationship with the epic Australian landscape * Written by renowned experts in all aspects of Australian art, in collaboration with the National Gallery of Australian Art, Canberra 200 colour
Oceania by 
Oceanic Art by
The colours and patterns of the art of the Pacific Islands - spears and shields, carved canoe prows, feather capes or tortoisehell ornaments - have interested Western audiences since the voyages of Captain Cook and Bougainville. Oceanic art in particular, had an influence on the development of the European modernist movement, influencing artists such as Gauguin, Picasso, Giacometti and Kirchner.
The Art of Southeast Asia by
Briefly discusses the history of styles of painting, sculpture, and architecture in the countries of Southeast Asia.
Provenance research - which explores the history of ownership of works of art - is an integral aspect of art history research; please find links below to resources available for Queens College students. Information about provenance research can be found in scholarly journals, databases, monographs, and open-access sources. You can always submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if an article or book is unavailable in OneSearch.
