Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resources (articles, databases, ebooks, ejournals, streaming videos) Guide

Provides guidelines on how to access articles, databases, e-journals, e-books, and streaming videos.

Tips for Searching using the catalogue, OneSearch

OneSearch Searching Tips

Everything in the Search Bar:

  • Means QC
  • Also means Books + Articles are included in the search results
  • CUNY - CUNY Libraries

What can you search in OneSearch?

What OneSearch Searches?

OneSearch will try to find that term in the records by searching for

  1. items that contain those term.
  2. items with those exact phrases
  3.  items that begin with those phrase

OneSearch searches entire records

  • Anywhere in the record
  • In the title
  • Author/Creator
  • Title
  • Table of Contents

What affects the ranking of the results retrieved from a OneSearch?

Relevance

  • Keywords found in title, author or subject field
  • An Exact match with the keyword will yield the highest relevance
  • If the term or phrase searched is the same order in a record/records, those will rank higher
  • How frequent the search term occurs in a record also affects its rank
  • How frequently the search term is used plays a part as well

Academic Relevance

  1. Published in a Peer-Reviewed Journal
  2. Number of times cited
  3. Material Type (Journals Articles, Newspapers Article)

If the search parameters are broad then OneSearch will place overview/reviews higher than actual materials.

If you filter the publication date or if we recently added something to the catalog, those show up first.

Improving your Searches:

Boolean Operators

  • AND (retrieves both terms) forest AND fires
  • OR (retrieves either or all terms)
  • NOT (retrieves only relevant term) climate NOT weather

Quotations

  • “Extinction rebellion” - searches a phrase
  • “Colour” - searches for a specific spelling

Parentheses: can search more complex queries

  • (Public NOT Private) AND education

Truncation: *

  • librar* → library, libraries, librarian

Wildcard: ?

  • M?n → man, men

Filters on the right hand side of the page

Use synonyms if your results are not what you want.

 

Search for Articles by Title via OneSearch

You may search for articles via OneSearch. Users may access OneSearch via our main QC Libraries webpage -- Quick Links -- OneSearch.

Once on OneSearch, you may search for articles by title or keyword. For example: How Important is Parental Education for Child Nutrition? On OneSearch, if we search for the article, How Important is Parental Education for Child Nutrition? we would retrieve the following results:

For this particular search, the needed article is the first option. Note: Searching by exact title should place your article in the first or first few items. You would then select the Available Online option to be taken to the record:

Once in the record, select the Elsevier link that is below the View Online option. By selecting an article you will be prompted to log into the libraries' proxy using your CUNYCredentials - firstname.lastnameNN@cuny.login.edu. For more information, please review the Remote Access FAQ. For this particular article, the option to download as a PDF is on the top right.

Using Advanced Search to find articles

If you do not know the exact title of an article, you may search by search terms. A recommended way to do this is by using the Advanced Search Feature of OneSearch. There you may search for articles using various terms.

Example: Searching for articles with the terms: Parental Education AND Child Nutrition.

Type the terms into the Advanced Search box and filter to Articles.

Your search will retrieve results as shown below and you can select the Available Online link to be taken to  the article. The filter on the left can also be used to narrow your searches.

Cannot Find what you need? Complete an Inter-Library Loan Request

Queens College faculty, staff and students may request books, articles and other library materials through Inter-Library Loan (ILLIAD). Before using ILLIAD you will need to register.

For most requests we are able to get articles in about a week, sometimes earlier, sometimes later.

First step is to register for the ILLIAD service, as it's called, by going to their page. You will be asked to enter some personal/college information, and then to create a username and password for yourself.

Then you can use the service whenever you need an article that QC does not have.

ILLIAD is in the Quick Links on our main page, or directly here:

https://qc.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/logon.html

Follow the instructions you find on that page for: "FIRST TIME USERS must fill out the REGISTRATION FORM."

Once registered you can request articles by typing in the information. Or, if you start in a database, then when you use the Find It! link to see if the article is available, you get the article or you get a link for Interlibrary Loan. This is the best way because after you click on Interlibrary Loan and login to ILLIAD it puts the information about the article right into the form for you (saves a lot of time!).

Here's what the ILLIAD system looks like when you login. Your options are on the left, including how to check for Electronically Received Articles. That's where you go when an article comes in - the staff email you to let you know, so you can see the pdf and download it.

The middle box displays the requests that are still in process.

Additional information is available on the Inter-Library Loan page or you may also email the ILLIAD staff directly in future with any questions about your requests: illqc@qc.cuny.edu

Accessing Articles via Google Scholar

If you are accustomed to using Google Scholar to search for articles, then we recommend that you use the Queens College Libraries' proxied Google Scholar. This will expand the results you retrieve. You will have access to freely available articles online and articles that the library owns and/or subscribes to.

Getting started with Google Scholar

  • Select the link provided on our A-Z Database List
    • You will be prompted to log into the library's proxy using your CUNYCredentials - firstname.lastnameNN@cuny.login.edu. For more information, please review the Remote Access FAQ. For this particular article, the option to download as a PDF is on the top right.

Once on Google Scholar, you may begin searching for articles by title or keyword. For example: Evidence-based interventions for improvement of maternal and child nutrition: what can be done and at what cost?

  • Search for the title and you will see the below results:

  • Select the Full Text at QC Link on the right
  • This will bring you to our catalogue, OneSearch

  • There you may select from one of the listed options
  • For example: Elsevier SD Freedom Collection
  • You may need to sign-into our proxy once again if you are timed out.
  • For more information on remote access, please review these steps
  • Once you sign-in, you will be able to access the article

  • In some instances, you may be taken directly to the article. This varies by collection and vendor.

Questions?

Known Issues with Google Scholar

If you see the following error message when you try to access Google Scholar via the A-Z Database List, it is because Google sometimes blocks access via libraries' proxy server. Google does not provide information when this happens and often times the situation resolves itself. Access on campus should not be affected.

We recommend taking the following steps should you encounter this issue:

1. Access Google Scholar via the un-proxied version: https://scholar.google.com/

2. From the Menu Icon on the Top Left select Settings then Library Links

3. In Library Links, search for Queens College then select "Queens College --> Fulltext at QC"

4. SAVE and return to the Google Scholar Homepage

5. You should be able to search for articles. When you see the "Queens College --> Fulltext at QC", select to either be re-directed to the Library Catalogue, OneSearch or asked to login to the library proxy in order to access articles.

6. Please review the FAQ on logging into the library proxy.

Questions?