Ebook Collections
Ebooks from our various QC collections and from Open Access collections are usually accessible through OneSearch but there are occasionally errors or omissions, so it's good to know what the other ebook collections are so you can search them directly.
QC Ebook Collections
On the Databases page you can sort the A-Z list to display databases that have ebook content within them. Under ‘All Database Types’ select ‘Electronic Books.’ Some ebook databases are devoted entirely to ebooks, while others have a variety of documents including ebooks. Here is a list of those that are useful for Anthropology, History, Philosophy, and other humanities and social science disciplines.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new windowAccess Provider: ACLS HEB - American Council for Learned Societies Humanities E-Book
Description: Online collection of over 5,400 books in the humanities and related social sciences.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: E-Books
EBook Central This link opens in a new windowAccess Provider: ProQuest, Part of Clarivate
Description: Collection of over 45,000 electronic e-books in all disciplines.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: E-Books
eBook Collection (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new windowFormer Title: EBSCO ebook Collection
Access Provider: EBSCO
Description: Collection of electronic books (e-books); users can create a MyEBSCOhost account to save notes and create personal folders. ebook Collection
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: E-Books
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowAccess Provider: Harvard University Press
Description: Digital collection of more than 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: E-Books
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAccess Provider: Johns Hopkins University Press
Description: Collection of scholarly journals and e-books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Articles, E-Books, Journals
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowAccess Provider: SAGE Publishing
Description: SAGE Knowledge is a cross-media platform, home to an expansive range of titles within the Social Sciences. QC Library users have access to titles within SAGE Books, CQ Press, SAGE Reference, and SAGE Navigator.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: E-Books
Springer Link This link opens in a new windowAccess Provider: Springer Nature
Description: Collection of journals and e-books, with a strong emphasis on STEM (science, technology, medicine) content.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Format: Articles, E-Books, Journals
Open Access Ebook Collections
You can access ebooks freely that are open access. Some open access collections are valuable for older, historical titles that were published before 1925 and are now in the public domain (outside of copyright restrictions). Other collections contain contemporary or recently published titles.
Directory of Open Access Books
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Google Books
HathiTrust Digital Library
Internet Archive
Open Library
Oxford Text Archive
Project Gutenberg
Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
Universal Library (Internet Archive)
Public Library Ebook Collections
New York public libraries also offer access to books and ebooks for New York State residents who register for a library card.
Brooklyn Public Library (BPL)
BPL: Ebooks & Audiobooks
BPL Get a Library Card
New York Public Library (NYPL)
NYPL: Books, Music, Movies
NYPL: Get a Library Card
Queens Public Library (QPL)
QPL: Books, Movies, & More
QPL: Get a Library Card
