Research Guides: Physics: Books

Serch for books, media, and other material owned by the QC Libraries and other CUNY libraries

Print and Electronic Reference Sources

First, gather background information of your topic in general or specialized reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries or handbooks. A reference book can be used to start a research project by helping the researcher to find short authoritative descriptions or summaries of important topics.These reference sources provide useful overviews of a topic and may include in their bibliographies resources you can further use in your paper.

Physicist's Desk Reference by E. Richard Cohen (Editor); David R. Lide (Editor); George L. Trigg (Editor)
Call Number: QC61 .P49 2003
ISBN: 0387989781
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Physics Quick Reference Guide by E. Richard Cohen
ISBN: 1563961431
Publication Date: 1998-04-15
This book consists of material in the first chapter of A Physicist's Desk Reference, updated and supplemented by additional new data. It's a self-contained, quick reference guide to the most commonly used mathematical formulas, tables of data, symbols, units, standard nomenclature, and fundamental constants in physics. A useful bibliography to more complete sources of data is also included.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics by John S. Rigden (Editor)
ISBN: 0028973593
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
The Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics offers readers explanations for the phenomena, concepts, and laws that form the foundation of every other branch of science from astronomy to zoology. The text is aimed especially at students who may enjoy articles on such topics as why water boils, Albert Einstein, black holes, buoyancy, clouds, computers, heat, magnetism, and space.
Encyclopedia of Modern Physics by Robert A. Meyers (Editor)
ISBN: 0122266927
Publication Date: 1989-12-28
This comprehensive collection of articles emphasizes new discoveries and technology and also covers some long-standing areas of research in the field of physics. Topics covered include superconductivity, quantum optics, and laser cooling.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
ISBN: 0849307406
Publication Date: 1987-12-31

Find Books

OneSearch
OneSearch lets you search in one place for books, articles, DVDs, CDs, and more. It combines in one searchable place: the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library.
CUNY Catalog
Search to locate relevant books, media and titles of periodicals at QC and other CUNY libraries.

WorldCat FirstSearch
Searchable online catalog combining thousands of library holdings from around the world. Can help to verify citations, find books on certain subjects, identify subject headings, and where to locate certain books, serials, DVDs, and more.

Other Library Catalogs
Search the library catalogs of regional libraries such as the Queens Library, Brooklyn Public Library, New York University, etc.