Linguistics

Indigenous Peoples' Day, October 9, 2017, marks the public launch of the newly migrated and updated Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America. AILLA is a digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. AILLA's mission is to preserve these materials and make them available to Indigenous Peoples, researchers, and other friends of these languages now and for generations to come. Access to AILLA and its resources is always free of charge. Most of the resources in the collection are available to the public, but some have special access restrictions. Free registration required.

The Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures (APiCS) provides expert-based information on 130 grammatical and lexical features of 76 pidgin and creole languages from around the world.

This open-access Language Repository has been developed as a major innovative national and international resource to support language training for social sciences and humanities research on Central and Eastern Europe and Russia. The Repository has the twin objectives of advancing the availability of specially designed teaching and self-study materials and promoting pedagogic reflection on language learning. It contains materials developed at universities across the CEELBAS network, as well as presentations and seminar and project reports on language-related research. These materials are accessible to interested users for the longer term through the Repository. The CEELBAS Language Repository is curated by UCL Digital Collections.

The Corpus of New York City English (CUNY-CoNYCE) is an in-progress project which aims to further the study of New York City English (namely, the varieties of English particular to New York City and the surrounding region), through the development and use of an innovative audio-aligned and parsed corpus of New Yorkers’ speech. The ultimate goal of the project is to combine recent advances in speech corpus development tools with the special talents and backgrounds of CUNY undergraduates to create a database that will be a resource for researchers in all areas of linguistics. An additional goal is to provide valuable research experience for CUNY undergraduates.

Queens College Professor Daniel Kaufman’s ongoing collaborative work in mapping and documenting the languages of New York City

The ELDP supports the documentation and preservation of endangered languages through granting, training and outreach activities. The collections compiled through the ELDP's funding are freely accessible at the Endangered Languages Archive.

Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.

The IPA is the major as well as the oldest representative organisation for phoneticians. It was established in 1886 in Paris. 2016 marked the 130th anniversary of the founding of the IPA, and 2018 marked the 130th anniversary of the first publication of the International Phonetic Alphabet and the formulation of the principles. The aim of the IPA is to promote the scientific study of phonetics and the various practical applications of that science. In furtherance of this aim, the IPA provides the academic community world-wide with a notational standard for the phonetic representation of all languages - the International Phonetic Alphabet (also IPA). The latest version of the IPA Alphabet was published in 2015, and IPA charts are re-issued annually.

The LINGUIST List is operated at Indiana University, Department of Linguistics. The aim of the list is to provide a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information. With the aid of contributions from subscribers, Indiana University, and the publishing community, LINGUIST List offers support to graduate students in linguistics and summer interns, who serve in return as editors of the list and help with the development and maintenance of the list server and website.

This catalog, developed by the Open Language Archives Community (OLAC), provides access to a wealth of information about thousands of languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.

The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors.