Research Guides: Dance Research Guide: Articles

Why articles?

Articles are shorter than books and often more current.

There are many types of articles you might find interesting:

The following databases may include information of interest.

ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable, digital library of nearly one million images, including dance images.
ArtStor is expected to be retired by August 1, 2024. For additional information please review the ER Dashboard.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of dance in the mass media.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Although it focuses on film and television, this database also covers dance.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes both scholarly and trade (professional) publications concerned with the performing arts. If you are looking for reviews try selecting Entertainment Reviews in the Document Type box.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, full-text database covering nearly every subject, including the performing arts.
JSTOR provided expanded access during the pandemic (June 2020-June 2023). Expanded access expires on June 30, 2023. CUNY will reinstate that access beginning in January 2024.You may review the Electronic Resources Status Dashboard for updates. Questions? Email: access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a Ticket!
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
This is a music database, but it covers topics in dance as well. It is especially useful for international dance topics.

For reviews, you may also want to check newspaper databases, like: