Research Guides: Drama & Theatre Research Guide: Articles

Why articles?

Articles are shorter than books and often more current.

There are many types of articles you might find interesting:

Analysis of a play from a literary point of view
Scholarly articles about theater history
Reviews of plays
Professional publications addressing issues of current importance for people in theater
How-to articles

Databases

The following databases may include information of interest.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
A literature database which includes scholarly criticism of plays but also sometimes reviews and interviews.
ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable, digital library of nearly one million images, including theatre images.
ArtStor is expected to be retired by August 1, 2024. For additional information please review the ER Dashboard.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Includes images and historical fashion information.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage to subject areas related to communication and mass media; also includes some coverage of live theatre.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Despite the title, this also covers articles about live theater. Includes images, academic articles, trade publications, and reviews.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes both scholarly and trade (professional) publications concerned with the performing arts. If you are looking for reviews try selecting Entertainment Reviews in the Document Type box.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary, full-text database covering nearly every subject, including the performing arts.
JSTOR provided expanded access during the pandemic (June 2020-June 2023). Expanded access expires on June 30, 2023. CUNY will reinstate that access beginning in January 2024.You may review the Electronic Resources Status Dashboard for updates. Questions? Email: access-support@qc-cuny.libanswers.com or Open a Ticket!

For reviews, you may also want to check newspaper databases, like:

Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
New York Times This link opens in a new window