You might be searching for articles on any subject imaginable to support your creative writing. Here are some handy tips to discover which database might be best for you.
Feel free to come in and ask a reference librarian for help. There is someone in the reference office, located across from the circulation desk, during the hours the library is open.
We have a print periodicals section on the first floor (two below ground) which might prove more creatively inspiring than electronic databases because you can see the context in which the articles originally appeared. To find print journals in the CUNY Catalog select “journal title search” in the orange banner to conduct a search only for journal titles. You can also peruse the section (which is arranged alphabetically) in person.
As mentioned, you could be doing research on any subject imaginable to support your creative writing. Encyclopedias are useful for finding quick and interesting baseline facts about a subject you are unfamiliar with. You can limit your search in the databases to only encyclopedias by using the scroll down box and selecting “encyclopedias.” We have MANY, but here are a few examples of encyclopedias in widely different disciplines:
You may also be interested in:
We subscribe to hundreds of databases here at Queens, any of which might be useful to your studies. To discover databases useful to your topic of study, you can narrow your search by using the dropdown box and searching by discipline. Here is a small selection of databases that seem particularly conducive to creative inspiration:
