As you've probably noticed, every academic discipline has its own specialized vocabulary. Knowing and using that specialized vocabulary can help you pinpoint the search terms that will yield the most relevant results for your topic.
So how do you find those specialized terms? You can start by thinking about the words your professor uses to discuss this topic. On this page, you will see some search terms you might find helpful. But you can also check:
Thesaurus: Many specialized library databases have a thesaurus that can help you find related terms. You might find a link to the thesaurus in the upper left-hand corner of the search page.
Subject terms: Look at the descriptions of articles you find in the library databases. The descriptions will often include subject headings. These are usually controlled terms, which means that they will be used consistently throughout the database to describe that topic.
Titles, descriptions, and abstracts: These will often give you a sense of the broad terms scholars use to define the focus of their inquiry. These are usually not controlled terms, and they can help you discover how nuances of language communicate an author's perspective.
There are several subject headings you may use in a subject search, including:
You can use these headings (and others) to find books. To generate other subject headings, do a keyword search and then look at the record of one that matches your topic. Towards the bottom of the book's record are listed the subject headings . These are always hot linked and can lead to further books on your topic.
More information on subject headings here.
Our library has access to Berg Fashion Library! Go to the list of databases and choose Berg under "B" in the alphabetical list. Or simply login in here.
Where do you usually turn when you want more information on a topic? For most of us, when we're looking for a quick answer, we probably start with a Google search. But Google "made in Italy" and you'll get over 87 million results! Finding the most relevant, accurate, scholarly sources in those 87 million pages is nearly impossible. Fortunately, there's an easier way to research: the library databases
The Queens College Library subscribes to over 300 databases, and most of them specialize in a particular academic discipline or field of study. This means that you can readily identify sources that are part of the same scholarly conversation. And because the databases were designed for academic research, they make it easy to see which articles are peer-reviewed, how recently they were published, and what disciplinary approach they take to the topic. In short, library databases help you research efficiently and skillfully!
This is not a comprehensive list. If none of these databases match up well with your topics, let me know and I can advise on databases for other subject areas.
Cross-search the "Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion" with other Berg e-books, reference works, images, and more; includes lesson plans for integrating resources into teaching, and users can save content and searches by registering for "My Stuff".
Types: E-Books, Images, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias - Full-text
Coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing; contains abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, conference papers, theses, technical reports and trade literature.
Dates: 1900-present
Sources: Journals, Magazines - Full-text with Find it!
Common platform menu for all Alexander Street Press databases.
Users can create & share playlists and video clips, and embed content onto Blackboard. Access to the following collections are provided by QC Libraries:
1. Academic Video Online: Premium
2. Black Thought and Culture
3. Counseling and Therapy in Video
4. Dance Online: Dance in Video
5. Ethnographic Video Online
6. Music Online: Opera in Video
7. Theatre in Video: Volume I
8. Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000
Format: Streaming Videos, Books, Images, Primary Sources
Note: All titles are searchable in OneSearch
An intuitive online research platform used by thousands of institutions and millions of users worldwide.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Please sign to QC Library when prompted to browse articles within the Queens College Library collections.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 19th Century (1851-2018).
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
