Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electronic Resources (articles, databases, ebooks, ejournals, streaming videos) Guide

Provides guidelines on how to search for articles, databases, e-journals, e-books, and streaming videos.

All of QC Library's streaming videos are searchable in OneSearch. Most of our streaming videos are available via Alexander Street including AVON and Digital Theatre+. We do have some streaming videos from other platforms including Kanopy, Swank, New Day Films, Docuseek, and Films on Demand.

1. For Streaming Videos, toggle to the Video Search Tab on OneSearch. 

2. Type in the title of the video. 

3. You may limit your video search to online/streaming videos by selecting the "Full-Text Online" option on the left.

 

4. Select the video of choice by clicking on the "Available Online" link.

5. Under View Online, select from one of the available options.

6. That will take you to our Proxy  to sign in. Browse our Remote Access FAQ for more information.

 

 

7. Once you sign-in, you will be taken to the platform. For example: Swank.

For any access or technical issues, please complete the Electronic Resources Access Form.

Public Performance Rights (PPR) are legal rights to show a film or video (streaming media) to the public. Typically, the media producer or distributor handles these rights and often includes them with the purchase. However, the rights-holder may assign PPR using a separate Public Performance License.

The Federal Copyright Act (Title 17 of the US Code) requires PPR  for public viewing of copyrighted media outside of the regular curriculum. This applies whether or not an admission fee is included. Examples:

  • film festivals
  • meetings, programs, and events on campus
  • movie nights sponsored by students or other groups

 

  • Alexander Street including AVON, Docuseek, and Films on Demand videos come with Public Performance Rights and can be used for events that do not charge a fee.
  • For all other platforms including Kanopy and SWANK, please complete the PPR Form to confirm Public Performance Rights.

Alexander Street

Users of the Alexander Street Video Platform should be able to:

  • Access captions and fully searchable transcripts for approximately 95% of all videos.
  • Go directly to the main content areas on the page using skip links.
  • Listen to most of the websites using a screen reader.
  • Navigate the website and control video playback using just a keyboard or speech recognition software.
  • Zoom in up to 400% using browser tools without text spilling off-screen.

There may be some parts of this website that are not fully accessible:

  • A small percentage of videos do not have captions or transcripts. Most videos do not have audio descriptions.
  • There are some cases where text is embedded in an image without an accessible alternative.
  • If line-height is adjusted, some video titles may be cut off.
  • The color contrast of certain featured images on the homepage may cause low text color contrast. 

If you have a disability and need to make your computer, tablet, or another device easier to use, AbilityNet is a recommended resource. We also recommend browsing free add-ons offered for Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.

For more information, please visit Alexander Street Video Platform Accessibility Statement.

Kanopy

Enabling closed captions, subtitles, and transcripts

Using your computer
Closed captions

  • Hover your mouse over the CC icon that appears at the bottom right of the video player and select English (or another language if available). You will then see the closed captions appear along the bottom of the screen.
  • You will also have the option to change the appearance of the closed captions to provide you with a caption viewing experience that will best suit your needs. To do this, select the Captions Settings option in the captions menu.
  • Once closed captions have been enabled on one film, they will appear on all films (if available) until they are disabled again.

Subtitles

  • English subtitles will be available for all non-English titles, though there are two ways in which they will appear:

  • Hard-coded into the video: the English subtitles will begin to play automatically
  • Available as a closed caption file: these will need to be enabled as described in the closed caption instructions above
  • If you are viewing a non-English title and do not see the English subtitles appear, please try enabling them through the caption menu. If they do not appear, please contact us right away.

Transcripts

  • When viewing from your computer, you’ll also have access to a dynamic transcript that will display lines in time with the video. To access this, click on More and select Transcript while the video is playing. The transcript will appear below the video.
  • You will be able to click on a specific line in the transcript to automatically jump to that position in the video. This is useful for revisiting parts of a film that may want to see again as the transcript is fully searchable through your browser’s find feature.

  • The transcript can only be loaded if closed captions are available, but they can be used independently of each other (you won’t need to activate the closed captions in order to view the transcript).

  • If you come across a title that does not have closed captions available, you can request for this to be prioritized.

SWANK

  • Screen Reader Compatibility

    • We recommend using the Google ChromeVox screen reader because we operate on a Google Widevine platform.Please reference this resource or view the following YouTube video for information on adding ChromeVox

  • Media Player Keyboard Shortcuts

    • The Tab and Enter keys will enable users to navigate the Content Catalog, specific keyboard functions may be used during movie playback. The functions closely resemble the keyboard functions utilized in other streaming platforms, such as YouTube.

      To reference the list of shortcuts, click the Keyboard Shortcuts link on an title watch page or hold the Shift Key and /

    • Captions and alternative audio options are found by clicking the more icon at the bottom of the player window When closed captions are available, they will be listed as English under the Subtitle heading. 

Reserves Request Forms: Quick Access

E-Reserves Request: You can ask for required materials, such as ebooks, e-book chapters, articles, streaming videos, or other online materials. You may also ask for physical items from our existing QC collections (e. g. books, videos, etc).

Reserves Renewal Request: ask us to re-use Reserves material from a previous semester

Course Management Application: apply to manage your E-Reserves course site yourself

Student Papers Request: obtain student permission to share their work with course students

  1. Contact our Reserve Specialists

Note: The QC Libraries complies with the current Copyright Guidelines for CUNY Libraries.

For more information, please visit our E-Reserves page.

Showing Streaming Videos during Class

Showing films from the Library collection via Zoom or another service is not recommended due to bandwidth issues. As a workaround, we recommend that you ask your students to mute themselves and access the film via the library at the same time from their own individual computers.

Should you need any assistance with this, please complete our Electronic Access Form.

If you would like to place an item on reserve or request the library to investigate an item (streaming video or ebook) for purchase, then kindly complete the E-Request Form.

Note: All streaming videos are searchable via OneSearch.

Video Linking and embedding

1. Videos on the platforms (ASP, Docuseek, Kanopy, SWANK) all have a permalink and embed code associate with it. For example in Alexander Street Press videos or Academic Video Online (AVON), under Share or Embed/Link you will see both the persistent link and embed code.

2. You may copy the permalink to use in Blackboard.

Embedding Links in Blackboard:

In Blackboard:

  1. Go to Content
  2. Select the Build Content Drop down and select Web Link
  3. Copy the permalink from Alexander Street Press as shown above
  4. Paste that link in the Create Web Link --> Web Link Information --> URL box
  5. Name the url and save

Tip:

  • Do not use the URL displayed in your Web browser's address bar.

Netflix

Netflix does not allow for an institutional license to their content. However, Netflix does allow for some of its documentaries to be used for educational purposes. The faculty must have active Netflix accounts. This will allow for the following:

  • Documentaries that are original to Netflix can be screened
  • The screening must be non-profit and non-commercial. No admission fees are allowed.
  • There’s a “one-time showing” policy.
  • The screening should not be used for any political events
  • Netflix logos should not be used in promotional events for the screening and/or infer in any way that Netflix endorses the screening

Please review the Netflix's Educational Screenings of documentaries policy for more information.

Please find a list of Netflix approved materials.

Queens Public Library uses OverDrive. Overdrive provides support for iPod®, Zune®, Sony® Reader™, and thousands of other mobile devices. They offer the largest collection of audiobooks, eBooks, music, and videos to browse, check out, and download.

How to Get Started with OverDrive

What You Need

  • A Queens Public Library card
  • A Queens Public Library PIN
  • An Android, iOS device, or Kindle Fire with the OverDrive mobile app, or compatible web browser

Installing OverDrive

Download the OverDrive mobile app from the Google Play store (Android, App Store( iOS)). To install on other electronic devices, click here.

Logging In & Checking Out A Video

Step 1: Once Installation is completed, open an app. 

Step 2: Scroll through the Introduction or tap "Skip to find your library." 

Step 3: Enter your Library Card Number and PIN and tap "Login."

Step 4: Start browsing for your next video!

Accessing OverDrive From A Web Browser

You can also access, browse, and checkout on OverDrive from a web browser by visiting the OverDrive website.

New York Public Library also uses OverDrive. Visit their site for more information. Note: A NYPL Library card is needed. You may apply for an ecard in the event that you do not have a library card.

Disclaimer: The QC Libraries are not responsible for any content linked from these sites. We cannot guarantee availability nor functionality.