MLA International Bibliography is a database solely on literature, language and linguistics. Searching this database yields comprehensive results.
Under Select a Field;
Use the SK Primary Subject Work to search for the title of the literary work.itself (i.e., Candide).
SA Primary Subject Author lets you search for the name of the author of the work (i.e., Voltaire)
Literary Theme allows you to search for a thematic topic (i.e., utopia)
With your search results, you will see some articles and book chapter are full text and can be accessed in their entirety online. Others might be "FIND IT" to see either links to the article in another database or our Interlibrary Loan options. More on InterLibrary loan on this screen.
JSTOR and Project Muse are full text, multidisciplinary collections of articles across many academic disciplines. Both provide full text access to scholarly articles and chapters in books. They search across the entire text of the article for your search term which makes them unique from MLA.
JSTOR includes book reviews and tables of content in addition to scholarly journal articles. You may limit by item type to accept only those that you are interested in seeing. JSTOR has a moving wall of about 4 years for most journals.
Interlibrary Loan is a very important service because it can help you get access to sources we don't have here!
That is, if there's an article or book chapter or entire book that you want, and we don't have it, we can get it for you!
This service isn't instant, but it's pretty fast. Most people are getting their articles within 2-5 days.
MLA International Bibliography is a database solely on literature, language and linguistics. Searching this database yields comprehensive results.
Under Select a Field;
Use the SK Primary Subject Work to search for the title of the literary work.itself (i.e., Candide).
SA Primary Subject Author lets you search for the name of the author of the work (i.e., Voltaire)
Literary Theme allows you to search for a thematic topic (i.e., utopia)
With your search results, you will see some articles and book chapter are full text and can be accessed in their entirety online. Others might be "FIND IT" to see either links to the article in another database or our Interlibrary Loan options.
JSTOR and Project Muse are full text, multidisciplinary collections of articles across many academic disciplines. Both provide full text access to scholarly articles and chapters in books. They search across the entire text of the article for your search term which makes them unique from MLA.
JSTOR includes book reviews and tables of content in addition to scholarly journal articles. You may limit by item type to accept only those that you are interested in seeing. JSTOR has a moving wall of about 4 years for most journals.
MLA International Bibliography Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
Collection of scholarly journals and e-books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch
Explore the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available including analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
The resource provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented.
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
A vast eighteenth-century library of the fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets, and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800.
Historical Abstracts is the definitive full-text database covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
Catalogue Link: OneSearch.
RefWorks is different from the other databases Queens College provides because it does not include any content. Rather, it is a tool that you can use to store and manipulate the sources that you find.
You can access it from the Databases page to add citations manually, or you can export citations directly to it from other databases.
Each database handles exporting differently, so you should examine the interface carefully. In some databases, it is one of the side tools
Once you have an article in RefWorks, you can add it to a folder, in order to keep all your projects separate. You will create these folders yourself, and can have as many as you wish. RefWorks can also create bibliographies for you in APA, MLA and other citation formats. However, it is important to check those bibliographies for any possible errors, since RefWorks is using the fields provided to it and not its common sense.
Please note: if you are accessing RefWorks from off campus you will be required to log in with the Proxy Service using your Empl ID account.
Interlibrary Loan is a very important service because it can help you get access to sources we don't have here!
That is, if there's an article or book chapter or entire book that you want, and we don't have it, we can get it for you!
This service isn't instant, but it's pretty fast. Most people are getting their articles within 2-5 days.