Skip to main content

Physical Education and Exercise Sciences Guide

This guides provides users with resources related to physical education and exercise sciences.

Getting Started

Select a topic that is of interest to you. If in doubt, talk to your instructor regarding a chosen topic. You might want to seek help from reference librarians who are knowledgeable about search strategies necessary for locating needed information.

As an initial step of your research, gather background information of your topic in general and/or specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries. These reference sources provide useful overviews of a topic and may include in their bibliographies resources you can further use in your paper. Then, search CUNY Catalog or other catalogs to locate relevant books.

Citation Styles

Catalogs

Popular Resources Links

Citation Styles

Purdue Owl: AMA Style

  • Purdue Owl provides an overview of the American Medical Association (AMA) citation style
  • Sample references for website, book, journal and online formats

Citation Software

  • BibMe: Free registration required. MLA, APA and Turabian styles available
  • Citation Machine: Generates citations into MLA, APA, Turabian and other styles
  • Endnote: Available to QC community through Web of Science database and signing in. Register for a free account on Web of Science.
  • Mendeley: free citation manager available as a web application and desktop software.
  • Zotero: Free software that allows one to collect, manage, share and cite research sources

Additional Citation Help:

Remote Access

All Queens College students, staff, and faculty can access to the libraries’ electronic resources off-campus. To use databases and electronic resources while off-campus you must verify affiliation with Queens College when prompted.

Please note that the library has updated its catalog and as such barcodes are no longer supported. However, if you are unable to login as suggested below, please complete the form:https://qc-cuny.libwizard.com/f/ElectronicResources_Access_Form and include your barcode number. We will work to resolve the issue.

In order to access library databases, resources and your account, you may login with your CUNY Login Credentials. Your CUNY Login credentials follow the  pattern: Firstname.LastnameNN@login.cuny.edu, where “NN” is the last 2+ digits of your CUNY EMPLID. If you are a guest user, your CUNY Login account username will be the one you set in the CUNY Portal.

When you select a resource from the A-Z Database Page or One Search, you will first see the following page:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then automatically be redirected to the following:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you forgot your CUNY Login credentials and need to reset either your username or password, please visit the CUNY Login Account Service page: https://managelogin.cuny.edu/OIMSelfService/

For more information about your CUNY Login Credentials, please visit this page: https://www.cuny.edu/about/administration/offices/cis/cuny-login-faq/

Please complete the Electronic Resources Access Form: https://qc-cuny.libwizard.com/f/ElectronicResources_Access_Form if you are experiencing any technical issues and/or need further assistance. You may also contact us via one of the listed options: