Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citations and Bibliographies

What is Refworks

RefWorks is different from the other databases Queens College provides because it does not include any content. Rather, it is a tool that you can use to store and manipulate the sources that you find.

You can access it from the Databases page to add citations manually, or you can export citations directly to it from other databases.

 Each database handles exporting differently, so you should examine the interface carefully. In Academic Search Complete, it is one of the tools at the side.

Once you have an article in RefWorks, you can add it to a folder, in order to keep all your projects separate. You will create these folders yourself, and can have as many as you wish. RefWorks can also create bibliographies for you in APA, MLA and other citation formats. However, it is important to check those bibliographies for any possible errors, since RefWorks is using the fields provided to it and not its common sense.

We offer printable instructions on how to create folders, add references, edit your reference, and generate a bibliography using RefWorks.

Please note: if you are accessing RefWorks from off campus you will be required to log in with the Proxy Service using your ADS account.

Need Help?

  • If you need help, stop by the Library research office.
  • Consult the RefWorks Tutorial
  • Consult the HELP pages within RefWorks.