We'd love to integrate archival resources and instruction into your classroom. You can make an instruction request via https://library.qc.cuny.edu/services/instruction/ or email Annie Tummino, Head of Special Collections and Archives, at annie.tummino@qc.cuny.edu. We prefer to start with an in-person planning meeting using this worksheet as a guide. Please keep in mind that our staff is small and our ability to provide instruction is resource contingent. We kindly ask for 4 weeks or more notice to plan a successful class or collaboration.
Need some inspiration? Check out examples in the following resources.
| Number | Title | Semester | Instructor | Description |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HIST392W | America in the 1960s | S19 | Giardina | Two sessions. Presentation introducing archives, with show-and-tell. Document analysis exercise using four items related to the 1964 Mississippi Freedom Summer from the Mark Levy Papers. |
| ITAL 209 | Made in Italy Across the Ocean: The Fortune of Italian Art, Fashion, and Design in the United States | S19 | Lucchi |
Examined menus from Italian restaurants and pizza shops from the Menu Collection |
| ART 724 | MFA Seminar | S19 | Bass |
Examined photographs documenting voter registration project in 1965 from the Dean Savage Papers and ephemera from the Occupy Wall Street Collection |
| ARTS190 | Design Foundations | F18 | Travieso | Examined political posters from the Mark Levy Papers |
Check out some photos of our collaborations in action.
Queens College Special Collections and Archives (SCA) preserves the institutional history of the college as well as the social and cultural contributions of its faculty and students. Building on the historical strengths of the college, our collection focuses include civil rights and social justice, politics and civic engagement, music, and print history.
The Queens Memory Project can provide training, equipment, and infrastructure to create and preserve oral history interviews in conjunction with your class. For information contact Queens Memory Outreach Coordinator Lori Wallach at lori.wallach@qc.cuny.edu.
