Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Articles

Why articles?

For articles, databases are generally the best place to search.

Below, I list some databases that are either general in nature or address gender studies specifically, as well as some databases pertaining to some of the various disciplines in which women's and gender studies classes are taught.

General or Gender Studies Databases

The following databases may include information of interest.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A very general database with a little bit of information on almost every subject. Includes both popular and scholarly sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of core journals across all disciplines. JSTOR is particularly strong in the humanities and in history.

Expanded access includes:
1. Full archive expanded access program (all Arts & Science Collections, Thematic Collections, Primary Source Collections).
2. Freely accessible Public Health journals
3. Freely accessible coronavirus related books and journal articles
4. Free online reading expanded to 100 articles/month
5. ArtStor Core Collection

OneSearch
OneSearch is a tool that combines the databases with the catalog--that is, it lets you search articles and books at the same time. This can be a great place to start because it searches in places you might not have considered.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, full-text collection of scholarly journals and e-books.

Subject Specific Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering the history of the United States and Canada. Allows you to limit your search by historical period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of media studies topics.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A database covering world history. Historical Abstracts allows you to limit to the historical dates of interest. For coverage of the United States and Canada see America: History and Life.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This is a very specialized language and literature database. If you are taking Women Writers or another literature class, it is invaluable. Note that you can search by title of work.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of scholarly literature in the field of behavioral sciences and mental health.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers the social sciences generally, including anthropology, political science, psychology and sociology.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of international literature in Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
This is a collection of primary source materials covering women's history in the United States. It covers the years 1600–2000.

Newspapers

Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and comprehensive coverage of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States, with some international coverage.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Covers the New York Times from 1980 to the present.

Women's and Gender Studies

Humanities Librarian

Why articles?

General or Gender Studies Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Newspapers

Selected Magazines and Journals