Hollywood Remixed Hollywood Remixed is a podcast covering films, film production, and the entertainment industry.
Regular features include a business column, reports on entertainment stocks, a calendar of events, and births, weddings, and deaths. HR also publishes lists of films in production, films in preparation, and films in development, with detailed credits.
Library access to the Hollywood Reporter archives:
Article content is available from several databases, including LexisNexis (1991-present), ProQuest (2001-present), Factiva and Ebsco.
Contains extensive information on the business of entertainment, along with reviews of films, TV, and theater. While its primary focus is on film and television, it does include some information on the business side of theater production.
Library access to the Variety archives:
Electronic access via multiple databases, plus microfilm in Bobst from 1905 through present.
Covers the broadcasting and cable industries in-depth, including news and reports on radio, television, cable and satellite. Features legislative updates, radio and television ownership changes, new stations, facilities changes, band allocations, classified, calendar of events and major meetings, and more.
Library access to the Broadcasting & Cable archives:
Electronic access via multiple databases, plus microfilm in Bobst from 1993 through present.
From 1998-2020, Television week (or TV Week) covered issues related to the management of television and radio stations, broadcast networks, cable systems and the emerging electronic media, as well as advertising agency media executives and producers and syndicators of programming.
Library access to Television Week:
Full-text access via LexisNexis, ProQuest, Factiva, and a few additional databases.
Internet archive captures of the website for tvweek.com from 1998-2020, when it stopped being updated.
Television Business International
Covers the production and distribution of TV programming in the international market, as well as comprehensive coverage of major program markets, industry trends, territory and company profiles and interviews. TBI aims to update its readers on new research and developments in interactive TV and new media sectors.
Library access to the Television Business International archives:
Multichannel news
Multichannel News is a magazine and website published by NewBay Media that covers multichannel television and communications providers, such as cable operators, satellite television firms and telephone companies, as well as emerging Internet video and communication services.
Strongly geared toward reporting news and current trends in the music industry. Large- and small-format articles represent a variety of topics, including how artists utilize new technology to create their work and to market and distribute it.
Library access to the Billboard archives:
Electronic access extending as far back as 1988 via ProQuest; library holdings include a combination of microfilm and microfiche covering 1963-present.
Covers the broadcasting and cable industries in-depth, including news and reports on radio, television, cable and satellite. Features legislative updates, radio and television ownership changes, new stations, facilities changes, band allocations, classified, calendar of events and major meetings, and more.
Library access to the Broadcasting & Cable archives:
Electronic access via multiple databases, plus microfilm in Bobst from 1993 through present.
Recode Media Recode Media is a podcast hosted by Peter Kafka analyzing strategies, trends, analysis in media and the tech industry.
Digiday Digiday is a podcast on media, marketing, and tech news produced by the media and marketing company Digiday.
The Information The Information is a podcast on the technology industry, with good coverage of major tech and media companies like Facebook, Apple, Amazon, Netflix, and Google.
Mashable
Mashable is an international entertainment, culture, tech, science, and news website founded by Pete Cashmore in 2005.
Vox logoVox — Technology and Media
Vox is an American entertainment website owned by Vox Media. The website was founded in April 2014 by Ezra Klein, Matt Yglesias, and Melissa Bell, and is noted for its concept of explanatory journalism.
Macworld is a web site and print magazine covering the products, media, and software of Apple Inc. Founded in 1984, it is one of the oldest magazines dedicated to covering Apple products and culture.
Motion Picture Association of America
The Motion Picture Association of America, Inc. (MPAA), together with the Motion Picture Association (MPA) and MPAA's other subsidiaries and affiliates, serves as the voice and advocate of the American motion picture, home video and television industries in the United States and around the world.
National Association of Broadcasters
The National Association of Broadcasters is the voice for the nation’s radio and television broadcasters. As the premier trade association for broadcasters, NAB advances the interests of our members in federal government, industry and public affairs; improves the quality and profitability of broadcasting; encourages content and technology innovation; and spotlights the important and unique ways stations serve their communities.
National Cable and Telecommunications Association
The National Cable & Telecommunications Association, formerly the National Cable Television Association, is the principal trade association of the cable industry in the United States. Founded in 1952, NCTA's primary mission is to provide its members with a strong national presence by providing a single, unified voice on issues affecting the cable and telecommunications industry.
Recording Industry Association of America
The Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) is the trade organization that supports and promotes the creative and financial vitality of the major music companies. Its members are the music labels that comprise the most vibrant record industry in the world. RIAA® members create, manufacture and/or distribute approximately 85% of all legitimate recorded music produced and sold in the United States.
Association for International Broadcasting
The Association for International Broadcasting is an industry association for television, radio, online and mobile media. The AIB publishes a trade magazine titled "The Channel," available online.
