Research Guides: Business of Media: MEDST 264: Business & Media Resources

Business Articles

Wall Street Journal Academic Pass The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper based in New York City. Catalogue Link: OneSearchNote: Use your Queens College email to create an account. 
Professors and staff retain WSJ access for one year after activating and will be asked to re-activate in one year. Students creating accounts are required to input graduation date and year. This becomes the account expiration date. Students who graduate later than expected and lose access can always re-activate accounts. If you already have an account, call 1-800-568-7625 to switch from paid account to a Queens College account and receive a balance refund.
New York Times Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. The complete text of recent articles is provided in ASCII format. The New York Times Book Review and Sunday Magazine are provided in PDF format. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
New York Times | Academic Pass NYTimes.com Passes grant digital access to The New York Times. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
First-time users must register for an Academic Pass with an active Queens College e-mail address.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 19th Century (1851-2018). Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
ABI/INFORM Collection The collection includes key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review that focuses on global business trends.Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
ABI/INFORM Collection includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
Business Source Complete An essential tool for business students that covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
Gale Business: Insights Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports.Catalogue Link: OneSearch
Regional Business News Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Content for Regional Business News is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington Post, PR Newswire US, and more.  Catalogue Link: OneSearch.

Many databases have the option to search by NAICS code. Select NAICS from the pull down box in the advanced search page. A link to look up NAICS is displayed in ABI Inform once you select the pull down option.

In this example, we are searching for consumer or customer information about Sound Recording Studios using databases ABI/INFORM Collection. Other search terms might be customer behavior, or even musicians. You will adapt your search terms for your project. In addition, you may wish to select only Trade Journals and maybe Reports to limit your results.

ABI/INFORM Collection The collection includes key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review that focuses on global business trends.Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
ABI/INFORM Collection includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.

Mass Media Resources

Communication & Mass Media Complete A robust database that provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse. Catalogue Link: OneSearch. 
Film & Television Literature Index This comprehensive bibliographic database provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications related to film and television studies. Catalogue Link: OneSearch.