A not for profit, volunteer organization that oversees procedures to verify the circulation data published by newspapers and periodicals.
Nielsen is a global measurement and data analytics company.
The research studies on media ownership listed here were intended to inform the Commission’s 2006 comprehensive review of its broadcast ownership policies.
Published by the Columbia Journalism Review, this resource allows you to view media ownership by company.
The Business Guide highlights very useful resource for identifying resources in specific categories, including industry research, marketing research, company and financial information, etc. It includes links and descriptions for specialized business resources, journal and periodical databases, and research guides.
Business Source Complete
Includes Datamonitor reports for companies. Click on company profiles in the main menu bar, then search or browse for a company.
Nexis Uni
Click on the "Company Info" to search through more than 80 million company profiles.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.
* Video instructions available.
EDGAR/IDEA
Search for company filings. Includes 10-Ks, as well as quarterly reports. Free. Made available by the Securities and Exchange Commission. Includes filings 1994 to present.
Nexis Uni
Click on the "Company Info" widget to search/view company profiles and SEC filings.
Please clear your browser's cache and cookies before attempting to access this resource.
* Video instructions on how to use Nexis Uni.
To understand more about a specific media industry, try these sources.
Great for digital media and advertising. Includes an industry section on Media and Entertainment as well as statistics and tables related to media usage.
Provides access to reports from the information technology consulting firm Gartner Group.
Entertainment Industry Economics
by
Knowing if a company is publicly traded makes a big difference in understanding what kind of information you can expect to find about it. While publicly traded companies must report financial information to government regulatory agencies (e.g., the SEC), private companies don't need to disclose much at all.
If you aren't sure about a company, try using the company search in Nexis Uni. You'll see in the list of results whether a company is public or private.
If a company is private...
If a company is public...
When companies file their financial disclosure statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the reports end up in a database called EDGAR, which stands for Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System. You can search EDGAR via the SEC's website or search SEC filings via business databases.
SIC & NAICS are two industry classification systems and as you begin to navigate the business databases, you will see them everywhere.
SIC is an older, more international system, still in use by the U.S. Government.
NAICS is a little newer and generally applies to North America. Either way, don't worry too much about these. Just understand that they are used to code specific industries, largely for the purposes of research and statistics.
