QC does not have access to Nielsen data via Nielsen. However, you can get to Nielsen data via several ways:
Broadcasting and Cable
Available via Communication and Mass Media Complete, ABI/INFORM Collection, and more databases this trade journal contains Nielsen data.
Nielsen reports
Some free data and reports are available via the "Insights," link from this page, including demographic, company, and state of the media reports.
American Time Use Survey
Conducted by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing. Includes some television viewing statistics.
Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook
This journal provides basic television and cable viewing statistics.
Television Bureau of Advertising (TVB)
The Research Central portion of this site contains weekly television program ratings and national ratings reports by specific demographics. Most data is for the current year; some data goes back to 2003. Some information is members-only.
TV Ratings Guide Open access
TV Ratings Guide is a website authored by a collective of independent writers devoted to collecting and analyzing television ratings data in the United States. The site also offers critical reviews of series on broadcast, network and online programming, and posts (unverified) historic Nielsen ratings data.
TV Dimensions
This journal provides a number of statistics related to television viewership, markets, and more.
Here are some suggestions for finding statistics related to media. Additional demographic/consumer data can be found in the databases available via the Data Resources.
Pew Research Center Project for Excellence in Journalism
Includes data sets related to news coverage of events; also includes the annually produced "State of the News Media" which includes charts and tables of viewing patterns for news in cable tv, network tv, newspapers, etc.
Historical Circulation Figures: N.W. Ayer & Son's American Newspaper Annual and Directory
N.W. Ayer and Son's American Newspaper Annual and Directory was a directory to US newspapers and periodicals, arranged by state and city, published in the late 19th and 20th centuries. Available online from the Library of Congress and the Hathi Trust from 1880-1923.
Radio Advertising Bureau
The Radio Advertising Bureau is an advocacy and research group that serves US radio stations in the U.S. The RAB conducts research and aggregates sales and advertising data to promote radio stations. Much of the research is available to members only for a fee, but some of the reports are freely available.
Arbitron
QCL does not subscribe to this resource due to cost, but some radio ratings are available for free. Click on the Free Resources link to see these reports.
Performer or album-specific sales data is proprietary information held by individual recording companies, and is often difficult to find in any comprehensive or detailed form. However, publications such as Billboard compile and publish charts on the weeks top albums and artists that can approximate this data. Other good sources for sales information are books about music history, biographies on individual artists, bibliographies and discographies.
Recording Industry Association of America
The RIAA collects and compiles information on the number of "shipments," or physical and digital sales of records, tapes, CDs, digital downloads, mobile sales, and subscription services. From the "Research" tab you can access reports on U.S. shipment numbers, the music industry, and music consumer profiles.
Music Index Online (Ebsco)
Find popular sources, scholarly articles, and trade publications on the music industry, markets, artists and albums.
eMarketer
Contains some data from ComScore. Includes market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
Alexa web rankings
There are several useful free tools from this Amazon-owned web analysis company, including web traffic metrics, top sites lists, site demographics, etc.
Pew Internet and American Life Project
Provides access to academic studies and statistics of the Internet's growth and social impacts.
U.S. Census Bureau: Computer and Internet Use
The U.S. Census Bureau has been collecting data on computers and Internet use sporadically since 1984 in the Current Population Survey (CPS). In 1984, 1989, and 1993, only questions about computers were asked. In 1997, the CPS asked questions about Internet access for the first time. In 2000, 2001, 2003, and 2010, questions were asked about both computers and Internet use. The American Community Survey (ACS) has collected data about computers and Internet use annually since 2013.
